Getting Glassy-eyed….

Welcome to Chaudron Glass....

Ok, you know about the ongoing bathroom project…the one about 6/7 finished…it still is by the way.  One hangup is cabinet doors for some shelves, built into the wall….you can’t leave them open, with all your personals in there. So I have the doors….the same cabinets that are in my kitchen, but in white. But they’re just a frame.

Something like this....only in white...

Considered mirrors in them but have decided instead on glass.  Glass with a little attitude.  I saw online a place called Chaudron Glass, on Lovegrove Street. On the map I saw it was pretty close to work, so I drove over at lunchtime. But finding it was another matter altogether(the gps kept insisting I had reached my destination)…. because this is what Lovegrove “Street looks like. Yep, it is an alley…with a name.

Welcome to Lovegrove "Street".....

Saw the sign on the wall you see above on the first picture, but not an entrance per se… none that looked very welcoming.

Please, come inside...if you dare....

So I called and said, “Ummm, I’m here, I think….but where do you go inside?” A woman replies, “See a door with a keypad and a ringer?” I replied that I did. “Buzz the ringer, someone will come to get you“….very Russian mafia, yes? Love the tag art.

But Chaudron is the real deal…

This is what the workroom looks like(my handbag and Ray-Bans on the table)...

Here were my finalists of glass…..

All so pretty, but I only need one...

Love the seeded glass.....

Love the old "drugstore" look of this....

But the pattern called "rondele" stole my heart....

This is what it will look like after the glass is frosted...that takes a few days...

Herman does the ciphering, old school....

I asked Herman could the glass be finished by Friday…he replied, “I’ll have to ask the man upstairs about that.”  He did not mean God…there really is a man upstairs who sandblasts and cuts the glass. Herman came back with, “There a very good chance it will be finished by Friday“. And on that resounding qualified note, I left the doors there.  I’ll post a picture of the final cabinets doors and what they look like…oh, and if you have an old mirror that needs re-silvering, or glass or crystal or stained glass that needs a fix….Chaudron does that too. I think I really love this place.

Love the sign....

2 Responses

  1. I’ve been using Chaudron Glass for at least 25 years – mostly for resilvering of old mirrors. So glad they are getting some well-deserved publicity. They do a wonderful job, although not an easy place to find. Can’t wait to see pics of your new bathroom.

    CP

  2. […] from Chaudron Glass in Baltimore…such a cool place-post about it here. the pattern is called "Rondelle"…. I want a larger mirror…and on the wall is to be […]

Leave a Reply

