Your Groupon has expired….the non-redeeming Grouponer

What?? All these gone down the drain??

Ah, the lovely promise of Groupon. I blogged about it in this very space, when it was much newer….and perhaps merchants were clamoring to be on their site(though for some businesses, it must be said, that Groupon almost buried them…every time another customer walked thru the door, they lost money). But I am on the other side of the equation…they got money from me, for which they gave absolutely nothing…the non-redeeming Grouponer. Yeah.

And my family has given me a justifiably hard time about this, so much so that I have cut waaaay back on my Groupon buys. And Social Living. And Gilt City…..and so on. Here are the Groupons I let expire without using(in spite of my best intentions)

A cake at Sugarbaker’s which I never got(bought two and used one, so basically I paid full price for the cake).

Tickets to the movie Lincoln Lawyer which we never saw(ended up paying an additional $5.99 to see it on demand to add insult to injury).

Two Groupons to Blue Agave we never used(couldn’t I have stopped by for margaritas and some guacamole?)

One Groupon to Soup’s on in Hampden(though sadly, it went under before it expired, so I’m not sure this officially counts).

One Groupon to Restaurant Sabor(which also sadly went under before I could get out there-this is refunded to my account).

Oh, and in Charleston… I had a Groupon for a walking tour we never took(left it at the VRBO house in hopes someone might use it), and a Groupon for drinks at Squeeze bar there, billed as Charleston’s most narrow bar which we never drank(gave them to reporter Sheldon Dutes who travels back there occasionally).

So there. My guilty Groupon secret is out.

these are in my wallet...haunting me..."I see dollar bills..."

I have yet to add up the money lost and the money gained…I figure I’d still be ahead, but I’m not so sure. And it has introduced me to some places that I would never have tried otherwise(Tortilleria Sinaloa comes to mind)….but I’ve become more cautious about clicking buy. Much more. Though just the other day(ok, a lousy day of backsliding) I succumbed to the potential charms of The Nora Cafe and Bakery in Ellicott City. I have 6 months to get there….and I hope I do. One to Cafe Hon is expiring August 25th…the clock is ticking…ticking.

Maybe I’ll go to the Hon for breakfast tomorrow morning! After all, tomorrow is another day(didn’t someone say that?), and it’s the weekend….I hope yours is lovely, that you find a new little treasure or remember a Groupon that needs using. Don’t throw rocks, and come home safe…’cause we miss you.

3 Responses

  1. I felt so guilty when I let one expire. Thanks for making me feel a little better Donna! I really do love Groupon, Social Living, Chewpons, etc. but try not to go overboard. BTW – I love your blog! So many great tips, recipes, websites and terrific photos!!

  2. Donna—Nora Cafe is truly destination-worthy!!! Super food and folks in charge!! Let me know when you’re going and we’ll meet up with you!! My Chewpon/Groupon was only for $50 for $100 for catering—did I miss one for just a meal there???

  3. Yep, Sue…you must have. But I missed the one for catering, which would be lovely! Happy to hear Nora Cafe is good…will try it soon!

Leave a Reply

