And I still haven’t found what I’m looking for…maybe it’s a Nutella pizza?

Before the concert started...but it's already packed, in summer heat!

OK, being at the U2 360 Tour concert was, in a word…amazing. As much event as concert, whenever you gather 80-thousand….picture that…80-thousand people into a hot, muggy stadium for a rock concert, there could be trouble, you know?  But amazingly,  the crowd was so zen…and by that I don’t mean placid….there was hooting and hollering, singing, clapping a plenty…but no fights that I saw or heard about, no cursing, in the crowd or from the stage. A group of like-minded people who came there to hear some great music from a legendary band…and that’s what we got.

When Bono sang(and of course everyone in the audience sang along) “But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for“…I glanced around at people from age 15 to, what maybe 70?….all happily swaying and singing the lyrics to a song that obviously touches something deep in the wellspring of simply being human….watch a little of  “In the Name of Love”-here. That feeling of seeking something…even when we’re no longer teenagers…we’re all still seekers. Great concert. But last night I was seeking Chazz, A Bronx Original

Chazz is right by Pazo.....

The Chazz man-heard he was at the opening but I never saw him...

Chazz…A Bronx Originalhad its “grand opening”(it had what they call a soft opening a couple of weeks ago)  in Harbor East on Aliceanna…owned by non-other than Chazz Palminteri, of A Bronx Tale. Think luscious coal-fired “Bronx style” pizza, fabulous antipasta, and some great wine.

The coal-fired pizza oven is the first thing you see when you enter....

Margherita pizza, with fresh basil...and at the top, rice balls filled with bolognese-unbelievable...

Let me tell you, I’ve been to more than a few openings…and you often struggle to get food to eat(people camped out by the kitchen door and attacking waiters as they come out with stuff-hey, I’ve seen it…)….but not at Chazz…the kitchen was slamming it last night…constant hot pizza, big platters of prosciutto(which I adore) cheeses and bread….fresh pasta…sigh.

Is there anyone who doesn't love Nutella???

And the killer…a Nutella pizza fresh from the oven sprinkled with powdered sugar. That’s right. A freakin’ Nutella pizza(don’t get me started on the Limoncello rice pudding)..so good.

Room full of movers and shakers(I'm a shaker, not a mover)...

And because I like myself a nice looking Ladies room….here it is. Thumbs up..

The ladies room...Chazz style...

Have a lovely weekend everyone…don’t throw rocks, make a Nutella pizza(or order one)…do something nice for someone else(it all comes back)…and come home safe…’cause we miss you.

5 Responses

  1. So I have to ask what exactly does Nutella taste like? I have never tried it but hear a lot about it

  2. Carol, if you made peanut butter, using hazelnuts instead of peanuts, and if you added some MILDLY sweetened cocoa powder, and then added JUST A LITTLE more oil, to make it the consistency–you’d have something approaching Nutella. My family and I first experienced it in Germany (thanks, Air Force); the kids LOVED it.

  3. Look at you Marshall…making your own Nutella! Did you make your own there because you couldn’t get it or here because you couldnt get it? I would think in Germany it was pretty common, as it is here, these days.

  4. LOVED U2 as well, even though we were all super sweaty by the end!

    We hit up Chazz on the first night of their soft opening, and we were super impressed. It helped that Chazz was sitting right next to us! You could tell it made our server nervous, but everything was great. My old roomate/dear friend works at Rita St. Clair Associates and was one of the designers that worked on Chazz for the past year or so!
    http://www.ritastclair.com/index.cfm?page=portfolio&catID=2

  5. I do love the way the interiors are done there…casual, contemporary….can’t wait to go back for dinner…

Leave a Reply

