New Chairs and Fat Mama’s Tamales in the house…

Love the chairs....

Let me start with something pretty…I bought two of these chairs (from Overstock) to go at either end of the dining table(that is to be delivered on Monday)…and I really like them! The print in the background is going to go up on the wall there…it’s one from Relais & Chateax that I had signed by the artist, when I was in Quebec for  Great Country Inns years ago. I still love it and it’s prefect for a dining room, with a festive eating and drinking scene. But there is still much to be done.

Where did I get all this crap????

Pots and pans and various and sundry kitchen STUFF that needs to find a home. Some will get a new cabinet space, others will be taken to Goodwill..surely someone needs a potato ricer….anyone? Anyone? It’s shocking all the little gadgets and thingie-dos that accumulate in the cupboards, and you don’t even know they’re there until you clean it all out. Sigh.

So sad without it's door...so exposed...

ANd the dishwasher still needs its door to be atached…evidentally a little re-figuring has to be done..no slam dunk.

Fat Mama's in the house, ya'll!

But let’s end with something delicious,…especially on a Friday when thing should be a little delicious…Fat Mama’s Tamales-here,  came today….wrapped in the Natchez Democrat.  I first had Fat Mama’s years ago when I was actually in Natchez…such a lovely place to visit. We stumbled across Fat Mama’s…and I don’t think I’ve ever had such great tamales, and never forgot them.

Newspaper from Natchez Mississippi....

SO when I found they did mail order on the web…I ordered some for my sister in Gulf Shores(my other sister got Cheryl’s cookies) and some for me. I think how my amex card gets so high at Christmas…one for you, one for me…one for you, one for me…you know. But I wonder if the Natchez football players in the pic above have any idea they were the wrapping for six dozen tamales that ended up in Baltimore, MD…probably not. I salute you, Col-Lin Wolfpack…hope you’ve had a good season. And I hope all of you have a fabulous weekend, or even a decent one. Think of me still trying to get my kitchen straightened out and guests coming Sunday for lunch(overly optimistic? perhaps..). Play nice, don’t throw rocks and come home safe, ’cause we miss you!

3 Responses

  1. This post just made my day. I heart tamales! My grandma is 85 and still makes them from scratch down in Texas. I have spent the last decade trying to find tamales here in Baltimore that are as good as hers. I have tried many, but most are either shaped in a rectangle (not correct) or have wayyyy too much masa. I just went to Fat Mama’s website, and sure enough, they look EXACTLY like my grandma’s tamales. I will def. be ordering some this weekend. Thanks!

  2. I enjoy your blog and am having fun watching your new kitchen installation. Love the dining chair and the wall hanging. Please share pics of this room as well when you are finished.

    When we renovated our kitchen several years ago, I promised my husband that, in exchange for the new kitchen, we would have creative, gourmet meals each evening. Well, couldn’t quite live up to that one, but we both continue to be very happy with the kitchen!

  3. had some tonight for din-din Katrina…delish! dh

Leave a Reply

