Kitchen Hell….

When I left for New York last Wednesday night, my kitchen looked like this after taking everything off the counters and emptying the cabinets….(can I tell you how horrifying a couple of drawers were? Hello birthday candles from 1000 b.c.)…

Get all the junk out...check!

And let me tell you, the kitchen looks better in this picture(definitely not high def) than it did in person. We had an easy makeover on the cheap a 10 or 15 years ago…new fronts on cabinets….but still had laminate countertops(one of the last people in the world), and I have always wanted to open the kitchen into the dining room by removing the top half of the wall.

Bye-bye wall, hello dust....

This is what it looked like when we came home..after destruction. And I know that to knock down walls and take down cabinets, a mess will be made…the old breaking eggs thing. I think I just hadn’t realized how much, and how bad. This is what the living room next door(with all the dining room furniture crammed in) looks like.

Dust anyone? Anyone?

So this is how I’m living right now, and to be honest I’ve had to work hard to keep a positive attitude….as someone who values order in their lives. All my order is topsy-tervy…and everyone says, “But it will be so beautiful in the end“…”Think how much you’ll enjoy it!”…and I know that is true. But-I-really-want-this-to-be-over.

And to add insult to injury, this morning our Pella storm door that cannot be more than two years old…. won’t open. Not from the outside, not from the inside…the mechanism inside the lock seems to be broken and nothing moves it..and you can’t get to the hinges to take it off. Not good. And I have a busy day ahead…need to write a story(besides my tale of woe) and get ready for the Washington Monument Lighting tonight in My Vernon. Just me and Elmo, hanging out in Baltie. 🙂

7 Responses

  1. Please continue to send pictures. Love hearing about the renovation. Just had work done this summer and it was a nightmare. I’m interested to see how everything turns out.

  2. Donna, someone really did you dirty and there is no pun intended there … a sheet should’ve been hung in the doorway (s) of the rooms being worked on and sprayed with a water bottle when dry so that it would catch most of that dust – and sheet rock people know this – that’s who told me about it … you could’ve been spared most of this mess … I’m feeling for you right now 😦

  3. Donna,

    It is all worth it. When we bought our house, I told my husband that we would have to gut the kitchen. We had college tuition and weddings to pay for so it took 17 years to get to it. We were both sorry we waited so long. More storage, better lighting, a double sink, Jenn-air stove – what’s not to like. We didn’t move any walls so we were under construction for less that 4 weeks. I would do it all again even if it took twice as long.

  4. How exciting, Donna! I can’t wait to see the finished product. Will your cork wall still be a part of the finished product?

  5. Hi Donna. I am in the process of renovating my kitchen as well. What are you doing for flooring?

  6. Donna,

    I have been following your kitchen renovation and am about to embark on my kitchen Odyssey. So far I have consulted with 3 interior designers and find it a challenge to keep the cost down. I like your choice of countet top and facuet.

  7. I know what you mean….I think it’s good to go in with an idea of what YOU want, not what the designer wants…and I didn’t end up using an interior designer. I worked with a kitchen designer, who came to the house to see what we could accomodate in terms of cabinetry, and she was very helpful(Dashielle at Chespeake Kitchens on Reisterstown Rd.) and I had a contractor who works with her. It really helped keep the cost in check. And I did a lot of the footwork myself…found my own granite deal( and saved a couple of thou), picked out the faucet, the pendants, etc. I think if you turn it over to a designer to “do it”…more $$$$$$.

Leave a Reply

