Doing business in my pjs….Life as we know it online…

Mark, in the corner, is the guide...

It’s true…I had on my Ugg boots(of course), my favorite( and truly ancient) flannel, bright Hawaiian print pj bottoms(from Delia’s-remember them?), a sweater…and a cup of coffee in hand and a bowl of oatmeal at my side, as I sat down to close on a refinance of our houseonline.

This all started a couple of months ago…like many people…with a 6% interest rate, I was thinking, I can do a heck of a lot better. And as I am already an ING customer….I get their emails…one of them talked about a refinance with incredibly low interest rates. Hmmmmm…why would I NOT do that? And as it turned out, the interest rate we got(2.99%-I know, unreal, right?), was the best anywhere…a fixed  5 year loan. In 5 years….that mortgage is finished, kaput, put a fork in it, sister.

 

Coffee, oatmeal, online closing...check.

I haven’t seen one person…in person anyway…I’ve spoken to a couple via phone over a couple of minor snafus, which were fixed pretty easily. And this morning,  guy named Mark from Iclose, who couldn’t see me(thank goodness-I was pretty rugged), but we could see him, talking us thru the closing “papers” which you saw on your computer screen, asking the questions that needed to be asked, and explaining things along the way. We can download the final documents on paper, or to a disc. All you needed was computer access, high speed internet, and a phone. Seriously, people have been as amazed as I’ve been, that you can close on a house…in your pajamas. I  love 2010!

Grey flannel sneakers, anyone? Anyone??

Ok, here’s something weird that happened yesterday….I received a  big box of shoes (that I did not order) and no one seems to have a record of this order either. They’re grey flannel sneakers(pretty sharp looking actually) from some company in California. I have no idea why they were shipped to me…about 6 or 7 pair, $320 worth, in all different sizes. ????????????????????? My first task is to find out if I was charged for the mystery order(hello), and then figure out what to do with it. I’ll let you know if I have shoes to give away. In the meantime, have a fabulous weekend, get the house all ready for Thanksgiving, and don’t throw rocks…at anyone…no matter how much you feel like it. And come home safe, ’cause we miss you.

4 Responses

  1. Donna,

    I cannot do anything online that is “business-like” without being completely dressed. Even if it’s just grubbies (leggings and a t-shirt and at least a pair of socks). I recently started teleworking one day a week and tried to get started in my jammies and robe but that lasted about 30 seconds! I cannot even place my Avon order in my jams, must be dressed. Same with shopping online. I’ve tried, I really have, but I must be dressed! Wonder if anyone else is like that?

    On the re-fi: WOW is all I can say. I’m stuck in my loan because I have a HELOC and that causes me to be upside down. It’s very frustrating as I’ve never been late and can easily make what the new payment would be. Just another sad victim of our screwed up system.

    And with the energy audit – I want one so badly but am too afraid of what they will find that I won’t be able to afford to fix! Maybe next year…

    Have a great weekend!

  2. I think if were at home for work, I would feel the same about getting dressed. But if you have to get dressed up every day, being inyour jammies is such a treat…I change as soon as I get home.
    Have you investigated all the new loan government programs, or tried talking to your bank about it?

  3. Wow… the wonders of modern technology!! Congrats on the great rate!! And an added bonus, SHOES!!! How about sending them to those in Haiti… they can always use them or how about a raffle and sending the money to your favorite charity… it is always good to give when you receive! Kinda of paying it forward.

    Love, Hugs and Peace

  4. I’ve tried everything, Donna. Maybe I will write to my elected officials and see if they can do something. I cannot even re-fi just my first mortgage because of the HELOC. It is so very frustrating!

    Hope you had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

