Sunday Night Dinners…..

Sunday evening dinner...supper as my Mom would say...

I adore Sunday evening dinners….or suppers, as my late Mother would have called them. She rarely used the word dinner…in the south, especially on Sunday, dinner was served around 1:00 after church let out….and later that evening, you had supper. But however you refer to it….I adore the meal. It’s a lovely, informal time to have friends or family over. You can respectably and without comment,  start early…5 or six, no later. After all, people have to get up and go to work the next day(and let’s be honest…secretly want to watch Mad Men and the fabulousness of Don Draper when they get home-or after their guests leave). And my daughter is fond of trip-tropping over to hang out a little on Sunday, get some free food, and do her laundry without having to pay her weight in quarters to the machines at her apartment…you know the drill. We of course, adore seeing her, and figure good food and free laundry is a small price for her company.

Tomato risotto....cooking away....

This past Sunday evening, as promised, I made the tomato risotto, complete with roasted tomatoes and garlic, served with some sautéed shrimp on the side and roasted green beans. The risotto wasn’t difficult…or not any more than any risotto is. It does require some attention at the stove, stirring and stirring and stirring as the rice absorbs the wine and then the hot broth….but that’s about it. I don’t really measure the amount I put in…I just keep adding liquid and cooking until the rice is just cooked(not too much!).

The finished result.....dinnertime...

Shrimp sauteing...and I boiled the shells in the broth for flavor...

 One does want a little  protein, and Whole Foods had these lovely wild shrimp, which  I sauteed with some olive oil and spices…simple. Needed something green(besides sprigs of thyme)….roasted green beans filled the bill…you know how I love Roasted Veges of all varities. Loved it all.

Oh, and Saturday night, I made a Vegetable Gratin that I hadn’t prepared in a long time. Only this time I used an OXO Mandoline that my  Mom gave me a couple of years ago. It is definitely a keeper of a gadget to have around…

My OXO mandoline!!

 Here’s the terrible part….it was the first time I ever used it.  It’s shameful, really. Mother always loved buying her “girls”,  things she thought they needed or might want, and I so wish I had used it more while she was alive and told her how much I liked it, but….there it is. Some things can’t be undone. And what a shame from a cooking point of view too…because it created the nicest, most even slices of potato and zucchini I’ve ever seen…several passes and it’s done.

Let the layering begin...don't forget the tomatoes...

Layer the potatoes on the bottom of your oiled pan, drizzle with salt and pepper and olive oil….some spices if you like, then zuchini…drizzle…then sliced tomatoes…drizzle…baked at 350 for 45 minutes or so, uncovered. Simple, but delicious. Bon appetit!

4 Responses

  1. I absolutely LOVE your blogs. I read everyone…I’m actually subscribed to them. Yesterday a friend & I went to Olive Garden, my 1st time. I know I know…crazy. But I must say I was impressed. We had the never-ending salad which was absolutely delicious. & I’ma ranch kinda girl. Their breadsticks are also very good. I wasn’t hungry enough to get the never-ending pasta bowl so I chose the Lasagna Frittas. I usually don’t like buying new things to try…I will just take a bite of someone else’s if they allow. But they were SO good. I believe it’s fried lasagna stuffed with ricotta cheese, put on a plate smothered with alfredo sauce and topped with mozzarella cheese & marinara sauce. I usually don’t like alfredo so I put the lasagna on a different plate, but let me tell you…the alfredo & marinara was a perfect combination of yumminess! I’m glad you had a good weekend & you came home safe, cause we missed you!

  2. Donna, I am addicted to your blogs.I read them all,and have gotten so much good information from you. I must say you are my all time favorite newscaster. I have watched you for years, even remember the travel show you did many years ago. Keep up the good work Take care and you stay safe.

  3. when my grandparents on my dad’s side (the ones who had a vegetable garden in Butler, PA) were still alive sometimes they’d give us some zucchini….and my mom came across a recipe for a mock apple pie that you can make from zucchini……it’s uncanny….this mock apple pie made from zucchini instead of apples tastes EXACTLY like apple pie…..if I can find where my mom has the recipe I might post it….you could use it as the dessert for one of these Sunday dinners

  4. Sounds delish Joseph…would love to see the recipe!

Leave a Reply

