ALL THOSE TOMATOES…what to do, what to do…

gorgeous, glorious heirlooms....

I can only imagine what it’s like for those of you who grow more than a couple of tomato plants….you must be knee deep in ‘maters(like my Daddy when I was growing up), and no matter how luscious they are….really, what do you do with them all(besides give me some).  OK, here’s my problem, when I go to the Farmer’s Market, I get greedy. It’s true… I see a sizeable basket full of heirloom tomato “seconds”…in other words, they have a small blemish or bruise of some sort and you can get a bunch for not much money….and I just get all… carried…away.

And seconds are usually tomatoes that need to be used pretty darn soon…if one is bruised, you now officially entering  the racing decay countdown sequence…..5…..4….3….2…..ok, it’s rotten. You catch my drift.

Anyone can roast tomatoes...

So one thing I like to do with tomatoes right off the bat(before the coundown has begun) is roast them. If you’ve never done this, get with the program.  Simple…easy…delicious. My daughter is in love with these…warm from the oven, and placed on a thin slice of  French Bread drizzled with oilive oil….it’s a little bit of heaven. 

Here’s what you do….wash and slice your tomatoes into slices, and put them on oiled piece of aluminum foil on a cookie sheet or baking pan.Drizzle with olive oil and whatever spices you like…basil, oregano, sea salt, pepper…all good. And then put them in the oven at 350 degrees for maybe 45 minutes or so(maybe longer), until they start to carmelize  and shrivel a little…this intensifies their flavor. You can keep them in a jar with more olive oil, or even freeze them until later if you like, and they can be used in countless dishes…soups, pastas, almost anything tastes better if you throw some in, and again on bread…they’re a great appetizer.

Tomato risotto...I'm gonna make it!

And I discovered another recipe that I’m gonna try this weekend that calls for roasted tomatoes….Tomato Risotto.  How good does that sounds? It’s just a basic risotto made with chicken broth and wine, garlic and onion and a little cheese thrown in, but add some roasted tomatoes during the process….and then chop some raw tomatoes, toss with basil and put on the top when you serve it….like the picture….pretty and I’ll bet it’s gonna be fabulous!! Have a great weekend everyone…play nice, don’t throw rocks and come home safe…’cause we miss you!

4 Responses

  1. My parents have tons of tomatoes coming in from their garden. They’re making soup by the boatload. 😉 They will make the soup with nothing added in (a “base” as it were), then freeze that. Then, in the middle of winter, they can take some of that frozen soup base, and make a nice full soup (noodles and meatballs) with it. 🙂

  2. I know what you mean about tomato greed. I have a local produce lady that stops by once a week and I started buying heirlooms from her. I think I bouoght 8 lbs the first time. That’s alot of ‘mater salad. I have since learned to control myself. I like your suggestions and as I have some heirlooms to use I might try that myself tonight. Also keep your eyes peeled for a package of corks next week. Keep the good blogs comming. Thanks Paul

  3. The roasted tomatoes sound just way too yummy! Going to try them this week. Thanks!!!

  4. Don’t forget the old standby of bruschetta. Mix a bit of feta or cubed fresh mozzarella in with it on some thin sliced bread and it’s wonderful!!! And, of course, they’re always salsa!

Leave a Reply

