Blackberry genius…..and Chicken Tagine!

Oh, Blackberry. If only I understood you.

I’ve been part of the Blackberry crowd(soooo elite) for some time now…my daughter was totally convinced I needed one, and purchased the Blackberry Curve for my birthday. And she is a certified Blackberry genius….no matter what I need or am having trouble with(the time is wrong, the font is too little, how do I find out what calls I’ve made, etc.), she can steer me in the right direction.

11 News Lisa Robinson and I have the same model BB I think…she came to me a few days ago asking a question I had wondered about too. A feature I loved on my last cell phone was that there was a list of missed calls…on my Curve, that doesn’t seem to exist. Lisa was ranting about the same thing…”Why isn’t there a list of the calls you’ve missed? That’s important! I need to be able to see that!”  So, I dutifully texted my BB guru, and put the question to her….where are the missed calls? Surely they exist somewhere in that little box of technology. But how to access them?

She texted back….”When you push the little green phone for your list of calls…if there’s an x by the call…it’s a missed call.” She refrained from adding…”get it together, dumbo“….which I appreciate. It’s one of the few problems I’ve encountered for which the fix isn’t pulling the battery and hard starting the BB….like when I lost internet service for a week. Not cool.

So Lisa and I look at the call list and sure enough…there by each call that I didn’t get…was a teeny tiny red x. It’s just that we need a magnifying glass to see it. So I then found out how to increase my font size a little…and problem solved.

My version of Chicken Tagine....

Oh, and for you foodies… I made something amazing for dinner last night. I was inspired by a Moroccan chicken tagine(here’s a link for a recipe) I had at a friend’s house Saturday night, so I created my own.  Since I don’t own an actual tagine clay pot like the one in the picture(which supposedly it absorbs  the spice flavors over time and eventually almost self-spices the dish), I suppose mine is a tagine wannabe…..but it was still delicious.

A REAL tagine...

One of the ingredients I had on hand to make it kinda special was saffron…which I really love and while it is the most expensive spice in the world, a pinch goes a long way. The other is a jar of preserved lemons I had made months ago, and were languishing in the back of the fridge. Preserved lemons are simply lemons that have been sliced and preserved in salt and their own juices….super simple to do if you find lemons inexpensively…but it takes of few weeks of curing before they’re ready for use.

Buy some lemons, and preserve away!

  Here’s a recipe, if you want to make them….simple, and they store in the fridge for months. You’ll find they are fabulous is many middle eastern dishes….even chicken sautéed with olives, capers and garlic become special when you add preserved lemons. Mine would have been even better had it had longer to simmer, to allow the chickpeas to absorb the  flavors, but I wanted to eat by 8:30, sooooooo….dinnertime prevailed. Enjoy!

One Response

  1. Donna – You should also be able to set it up so that missed calls will appear in your messages. I’m sure your daughter knows how to do this, but if not, I’d be happy to give you more info. I think it’s a handy feature. I love my BlackBerry – there’s always something new to learn and/or waste time with. 🙂

Leave a Reply

