FOURTH OF JULY CHECKLIST….

Co-workers have slobbered over my pie...keep away!

OK, let’s see….I have about 15 minutes to write this before my newscast begins…but I’ve been busy today…getting stuff I need for the 4th weekend.

1. Chicken thighs for barbecueing to take to a potluck dinner…check.

2. Blue berry that may pass for homemade (maybe?)when I put it in my own darling red pie dish…check.

Fresh mint for Potatoes Fontecchio..sounds odd but it works

3. Fresh mint for Potatoes Fontecchio…here’s a link to recipe)…it’s one of my favorites, simple yet delicious and no mayo….check.

4. Two for one potato salad from Whole Foods…that is really good and come on, it’s two for the price of one!!…..check.

5. After newscast, meet daughter and hubby for dinner out…check.

6. Get ready to kick back for the holiday weekend, during which I hope to see a movie, (Letter’s for Juliet), visit some old friends by which I mean friends I’ve had for a long time, do some reading on my Nook…(just finished Wench-fabulous..and have moved on to A Reliable Wife)…check.

7. Wish all of you a most felicitous and joyful Fourth of July….be nice, don’t throw rocks and come home safe…’cause we miss you.

5 Responses

  1. Good luck with the pie trick, Donna. 😉 I love to buy a fabulous looking pie and put it in my own cute pieplate, but no one is ever fooled. I guess they all realize that I can’t make pie crust. Oh well. Thanks for the book recommendations. I just finished The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and highly recommend it, if you haven’t already read it. Have a great weekend!

  2. I have read the first two Girl with Dragon Tatoo books and have the third….I’m kind of saving it because I know it’s the last one. You probably know the author is dead…he turned in the triology and died not too long afterward. There was speculation he was murdered(even tho cause of death was officially heart attack), because he reported a lot about the underworld crime in Sweden.

  3. I just started the second book over the weekend. It’s as good as the first and I’m really going to hate to finish the trilogy. The DVD is being released this week, so I just ordered it from amazon yesterday. There’s a great article about the author at http://www.nytimes.com/2010/05/23/magazine/23Larsson-t.html.

  4. “A Reliable Wife” — Great title, intriquing plot, and glowing reviews. I had such high hopes for it, but it was a very disappointing read. 😦

  5. Just goes to show you Kim…books are so subjective, it’s almost hard to recommend one to someone else, unless you know what they like. I just finished “A Reliable Wife”….and I loved it, and was so sad when it was over!

Leave a Reply

