Happy Birthday to Me…..

Happy birthday to me, happy birthday to me....

Yes, it’s true…I’m a whole year older now. Darn it. No matter what I do, they just keep rolling on. What you may ask,  did I do for my birthday? Started the day off with doctor’s appointments…I’ve found that if I think ahead and get the appointments all clumped together, you can get a lot accomplished in a relatively short period of time, maybe half a day. And your birthday is a reminder to do those checkups and stuff that otherwise might slip right by you(as I have also done). So in a way….kind of…a gift  to yourself and your family.

My other gift to me was a couple of hours at the spa. I had a lovely gift certificate somone had given me for About Faces….my sweet daughter and I met up and did the mani-pedi thing….a little bit of bliss right there, and my nails look great, though I somehow smudged one of my toes…that needs to be fixed.

Salt's pretty bar.....love the lights...

We met up for dinner at Salt Tavern on Pratt Street in East Baltimore….wow, the food there is great. Duck Fat French Fries? Crazy good…served in a cute little paper cone with a trio of various flavors of aioli(garlic mayo). Three of us shared an order….though I was kinda sorry I didn’t get my own, just a little.

Braised pork shank....ridiculously delicious...

Cuban braised pork shank with  sweet plantains, andouille sausage, roasted poblano peppers, soffrito sauce…and it was as good as it sounds. And it was good to see that even on a Wednesday night, the place was pretty full….lots of people enjoying some delicious grub and a drink at the bar. The Baltimore restaurant scene looks alive and well…

Gin Blossom by Love and Toast...love the name

And I received some new cologne that I had asked for…called Gin Blossom by a company called Love and Toast, so now I smell kind of like a gin and tonic. Not really….but it does have  a limey fresh smell…I really like it.  You can get it online but South Moon Under also carries the brand. 

It was a lovely day really….birthdays don’t always turn out that way, as you know. Sometimes they can be a bit depressing, if you think about life going by so quickly, and all the things you haven’t accomplished this last year that you meant to or if someone you love forgot your birthday. Hey it happens. But it’s also a chance to start fresh, take a do-better pill as my Mother was fond of saying.  I miss her calling me on my birthday as she always did early in the morning, and she would always tell me the story of  our first meeting. That was back in the days of women being put to sleep for the birth of a baby….so after Mom was awake, she heard the nurse coming down the hall with a baby that was really letting off steam…yelling their lungs out. She smiled to herself thinking, that little fellow is really unhappy….I wonder who gets him? And the nurse turned into her room….with her daughter, still raising a ruckus.  She laughed, “The joke was on me…but you were the sweetest baby…just a mad one“.

8 Responses

  1. Happy birthday Donna! & I LOVED your story about the first time your mom met you. sorry she’s not here to celebrate with you! I’m glad to hear you had a good day.

  2. Hi Donna!
    I hope you have a FABULOUS birthday!

    Cheers,
    Justina

  3. Happy birthday, Donna!

  4. Happiest of birthday, Donna!! Hope it was wonderful.

  5. Donna – Happiest of Birthdays to you. Sometimes, we think we don’t make a contribution to our world or any impact at all, but I just want you to know that your smile has quite an impact. It is a delightful brightening to my day. I watch your station’s news almost every day and even though the news itself can be depressing, your smile (at the appropriate moments) just lifts my day. So have a great birthday and know that you add something to this world. Loved your story about meeting your Mother for the first time. When I first saw my daughter, first item I noticed were her HUGE feet. I thought I must have given birth to a giant, but she only grew to 5 ft. 10 inches. She has a nice smile too.

  6. Hey Donna,

    Glad you had a great birthday!!!

  7. Happy Birthday to a classy lady! Enjoy each and every moment of your special day and have an even better year.

    STO LAT! This means may you live 100 years!

    Keep on smiling and loving life. Monica

  8. Happy belated birthday, Donna…

    My grandson’s birthday is Jun 10th also. He just turned 5…..

    He is a blessed delight….

    Buck

Leave a Reply

