High tech Momma’s Day…help me….

Studying my Blackberry instruction book...

My daughter was able to spirit away my phone this weekend without my knowledge, and take it toVerizon to exchange it for…you  guessed it…a Blackberry. So sweet and so thoughtful…I’m looking at it right now . There’s a little red blinking, and I’m not sure what that means. I have a phone call? An email? A SMS message(and what does that stand for anyway? I know I will probably get used to it, but I think I may need remedial tutoring. I can make and receive a phone call, look at and reply to an email, and send a text message. That’s it. I can’t initiate an email, and while I can take the picture, I don’t know how to send it(Lisa Robinson, also a Blackberry newbie, sent the picture above for me)…I just don’t find the device very intuitive, and perhaps I’m not either. Sigh. Maybe by the end of the week we’ll be better friends.

On the other hand, a device I have wanted for a long time…an e-book reader…is now mine. I got the Nook instead of the Kindle,  a big surprise from my husband….and I learned how to use it in no time, and have been on a rampage downloading books(my AMEX must wonder what’s going on)….and am currently reading one called, “Little Bee“. It was suggested by a couple of friends, and I love it so much already, I’m suggesting you might enjoy it too…via paper or ebook. What’s next on my reading list?  South of Broad by Pat Conroy, all about Charleston, one of  my fave cities…and Dead Until Dark….the first in the Sookie Stackhouse vampire series, on while the HBO series True Blood is based. Can’t wait….vampires are all the rage. Oh, The Girl Who Chased the Moon, bu Sarah Addison Allen….it’s a story  about a quirky Southern town(is there any other kind? I’m just sayin’), wher two very different women discover how to find their place in the world. “Here are rooms where wallpaper  changes to suit your mood“….whah? This was a whimsical download…I’ll let you know how good it is.

I promise…pics by the end of the week or bust. You’ll see.

2 Responses

  1. Hope you love your Nook as much as I love my Kindle! I haven’t been to the Library since – although I do miss the library experience. Amazon regularly offers certain books for free and I regularly download them. This has opened the doors on a lot of genres I may not read ordinarily, and I like having access to a book anytime and anywhere. I know I don’t use my Kindle to its fullest hi-tech potential because I don’t know how! So, I feel your pain with the with the Blackberry and the Nook… Good luck and welcome to hi-tech hell!

    P.S. Little Bee – excellent book. Soon to be movie starring Nicole Kidman.

  2. Donna:
    I have come to love my Blackberry and hope you will too. I probably can’t do everything it can do but it works for me.

    Also, you will LOVE South of Broad. I listened to it on CD in the car so I had the benefit of ‘reading’ it with a good southern accent, but it was fabulous.

    Happy Mother’s Day.
    Ruth M.

Leave a Reply

