It’ Friday people! Momma’s Day and Half-price Frappuccino??

Momma and Poppa Goose

Yes, yes, yes…it is indeed that lovely day to which we all look forward..no matter how much we enjoy our work…the felicitous 24 hours known far and wide as …..Friday.

I love poppies....but I can't grow them, for some reason.

I started mine off with a brisk walk this morning…I saw some gorgeous orange poppies in  bloom…”poppies, beautiful poppies”…remember, Wizard of Oz? Oh never mind. And I also saw a pair of geese wandering through the grass, one keeping a close eye on me while the other one grazed…lovely sight that. I predict I will see baby geese..goslets?…soon, if I keep a close eye.

Mother’s Day is this Sunday…and it will be the first of such days without my own Mother to call and send good wishes. The first year I haven’t needed to try and think of one more thing that she might enjoy, as she wasn’t enjoying nearly as much at the end. Sweets usually went over well, and I ordered several times a year from Fat Witch Bakery in NYC, for their fabulous brownies, that I first discovered at the Chelsea Market there….you should stop by if you’re ever in the Big Apple.  And they do such a great job of packing them in a cute way….and I love the little witch. I would get Mom the “brownie babies“…individually wrapped mini-brownies that she could give away to staff and friends. She enjoyed giving treats.

I also have to plant these peonies I bought.....

I’m being taken out to brunch Sunday by my sweet daughter…she and a long time girlfriend of hers(since diapers) are taking me and her Mom, who’s a friend of mine…(you may remember Clare, whose head I helped shave during her rounds of chemo) out, for a treat. I’m looking forward to catching up with the girls, and I’m so happy to report Clare is doing well.  And last night, when I got home, I found a big box on my  doorstep, with a cooler inside  filled with delicious varieties of Callie’s Biscuits ….from the lovely Jennifer and my son…oh, and a really cute Callie’s t-shirt too. They know I adore those biscuits(then again, who doesn’t?), but it’s such a tasty way to send a bit of Charleston love to Baltimore.

A different kind of happy hour....

Last, but not least, treat yourself to a Frappuccino today and this weekend, at half-price(take one to your Mom, she won’t know it was half price)! Starbucks is having a Frappuccino Happy Hour  every day, from 3 to 5 pm starting today, through May 16th. Don’t say I never tried to save you some bucks.

I wish for all of you a lovely weekend….don’t forget your Mom….you’ll never regret the time you spent with her, but you may regret the time you didn’t spend. Play nice, don’t throw rocks and come home safe…’cause we miss you.

4 Responses

  1. Donna,

    Wishing you a Happy Mother’s Day and a great weekend. Enjoy your day with your daughter and friends!

    Trish

  2. Donna, your Friday blogs are always so bright and cheerful. Thanks for sharing your joy. Happy Mother’s Day. Enjoy your sweet daughter’s treat.

  3. Hi Donna. Hope you had a lovely Mother’s Day. I know it’s your first year without your mom. This is my second. People told me the second year was harder and it is. I don’t know if it’s normal or if it’s because I lost my sister and Daddy within five weeks of each other earlier this year. I couldn’t go to the cemetery (they are all buried together). I laid around and cried and felt sorry for myself. Then I started talking to my mom and I could hear her talking to my heart. Scolding me about a few things and comforting me in others. She is still with me. Even now I’m often tempted to pick up the phone “I’ve got to tell Mom about This!” It’s a strange emptiness. Others tell me you never get over losing your folks. I know it’s the normal course of life, it’s just getting used to a a new normal. Anyway, thanks for letting me drone on. It is therapeutic. I just want to echo what is often said: appreciate your loved ones now, while you still can. Tomorrow is never guaranteed.

  4. Oh Lainey, you lost a lot of people within a pretty short period of time….you deserve some grieving time. But I know what you mean about talking with your Mother….I’ve had the same experience. Maybe it’s because we knew them so well we know exactly what their response would be about almost anything. I do miss her…she was the soul of common sense.

Leave a Reply

