Your new look for spring….hotter hot pants…

The look we've all been waiting for...boy short bikini bottoms!

Ok, I was in the salon this week, getting  re-blonded(a little lighter for spring, like it?)and was thumbing through a fashion magazine as usual, and, shazam…discovered what is sure to be THE hot look for spring and summer. Uh-huh…that’s it in the picture above….and I feel confidant that we will all look super in it…can’t wait to wear it to work!  “Boy-short bikini bottoms with prim tops“…Perhaps they assume that putting on a nice jacket, gorgeous necklace and kickin’ heels will make everyone forget/accept that you’re practically nude from the waist down. This is being referred to in fashion speak, as “negative hemlines“. True dat.

"Vintage" look from Marc Jacobs....

Come on design world!!!!!!!!! Boy shorts as outerwear can be successfully worn by I’m guessing a full 2% of the population, and should be worn by 0%.  And in case you’re thinking they’re inexpensive, think again sweetie. Some of these by Balmain, Blumarine and others are high dollah-pricey. And what, you may ask, is the diff between boy shorts and hot pants? Yes, Virginia, there is a distinction…though subtle except to us fashion cognescetti…hot pants expose a little of your….ummm….derrierre, and boy shorts, dear Virginia, are fitted and do not.   

I showed this picture to several women (and these were women in their 20s and 30s….they got a good laugh out of it. Who knows, maybe this look will catch on….I hae no doubt that the NY Times will this summer have an “On the Street” feature with girls and  women who have stepped outside their comfort zone and donned their boy hot shorts…..maybe with heels and a jacket. I look forward to seeing it.

7 Responses

  1. Noooooo!!!

  2. Donna, Love your blogs and always enjoyed your pictures. Lately there have been blocks for pictures but no pictures. How did you like Phatom of the Opera? Have a great weekend. Reddy

  3. Wow Reddy, that is strange, and I’m guessing something to do with your computer, because I see them on mine. That’s a shame because you know what a talented(not) photographer I am. I’ll check with people here to see if everything is ok. I know sometimes on other peoples sites I can;t see their pics….reason unknown. And I loved Phantom…so did my daughter, the hubby less so. Music was great. Donna

  4. EWWWW!!! Do the “fashion” designers not get that 99.99% of the population dread bathing suit season? Guess I’ll have to resign myself to being a season behind and sport the bermuda look for the summer-me and my so not in my 20’s anymore thighs thank you for the style update!

  5. And just think of all of those people who want to be “with it” wearing these in size 3X. Oh my!!!!!

  6. I remember short shorts and skirts in the 60’s. But, these are panties, underpants whatever people want to call them. I like fashion, but these are not flattering even to teens. I’m glad I’m not a mother of a young teenage girl.

  7. Monica (and Donna) – I’m one of those 3X women out there and WOULD NEVER EVER consider putting on a pair of these UNDER my clothes let alone wear them all by themselves – what are these designers thinking? Is nothing left to the imagination anymore? Do we just keep giving the perverts, molesters, etc. more reason to do their trade? incredible!

Leave a Reply

