Lunch al fresco……

My egg tree...a pear tree that survived the winter...

Like many of you, the glory of the weather yesterday was just so gorgeous.…perfect day for Easter Sunday…perfect. No doubt many egg hunts went better without kids coming back with mud splashed up to their knees or on their butts from falling…or with purple lips from the cold, as has happened many times.

Table for ten....al fresco...

We had a small lunch party yesterday…for the past 7 or 8 years, it has been a much larger gathering…maybe 30 people or so. Which is fun too, in its own way, but this year for some reason… I just wasn’t up to it. So we whittled it down to about 10 including us. That way you can actually sit at table with people to eat, and visit and talk…something that is much more difficult when we’re all just milling about.

No, I no longer iron the napkins...

I put two long wooden tables together, one that is always outside and the other from inside, covered them with two white but non-matching cloths,  put several bunches of tulips down the center, tied the white napkins with different colored ribbons and that was that. And while I used to iron and starch the white  linen napkins…I actually prefer them soft and looser. As long as they come out of the dryer immediately and get smoothed and folded right, they’re not wrinkled…a softer, shabby chic look, I suppose. I do not miss ironing them.  My daughter made lunch at the last minute….not wanting to miss her Easter basket. I have posed the question in the past to you, about when does one give up the Easter basket? What age is too old to be getting a basket?  

A Southern Staple....but you can make it yourself for less...

As my son and the lovely Jennifer stayed in New York this year…that was two less baskets to fix, though I did send them an Easter care package from Callie’s Biscuits as a treat….some cheddar cheese and chive biscuits and two tubs of their very good(and very pricey) pimento cheese. You know how I feel about good pimento cheese…very very fond, indeed.  For lunch we had shrimp and grits, and a salad with roasted vegetables in it….and tiny cheese biscuits stuffed with Smithfield ham. A friend brought the most fabulous tiramisu I’ve ever had…got to get that recipe!!

4 Responses

  1. I’ve been recovering from surgery the last 2 weeks, so I’m just getting to catch up on your blog. 🙂 Since I’ve been recovering at my parents’, it was the first time tonight that I got to see you on the news. Life just starting to get back to normal for me….

    If your friend lets you share her(his?) tiramisu recipe, please ask if you can post to the blog! My Mom LOVES tiramisu. Especially since she’s helped me out so much the last 2 weeks, if I can make something special for her….. 🙂

    Sounds like you had a great Easter!! Glad you did..! What age is too old for baskets? My parents and I really don’t do them anymore.. granted, I’m in my 40’s. 😉

  2. Nicole – glad to see you doing better after surgery. Wishing you the best of luck. I am now 3 months out from my second back surgery.

    I am 19 years old and my mother still makes an Easter basket. It’s not just for me its for the entire family. I usually go for the Peeps. This there were a few Hershey’s Cookies and Creme bars – which I ate two of, and the occasional Hershey Kiss but that’s it. The other stuff my father and mother eat.

    I don’t know about other people and Easter Baskets but my cousins who are in their late 20’s and early 30’s each get one. I say if your parents don’t mind then why not?

  3. I stopped about five years ago. My boys were 28, 21 and 20. I bought all of the candy from Log Cabin in Fallston. I left all of it in the trunk of my car, thinking that my boys would not find it before Easter Morning. Heat wave came and melted all of the chocolate!! My boys ended up with small, flat pieces of indescribable chocolate!! Of course they ate it but that was the end for me!!!

  4. Nicole and Ryan….glad you’re BOTH feeling better…surgery is no fun, but sometimes necessary. Ryan…you’re only 19…of course you still get an Easter basket…especially since your Mom and Dad enjoy it even more than you do! And I promise to get the tiramisu recipe…soon and will publish online. Even better, she said it was dead easy.

Leave a Reply

