What snow viewers are saying and what they’re cooking!!

view from my hotel room early am...Williams Sonoma store on right.

Thought I’d post a little addendum to snow camp post while I have a little “down” time…this from Trish…” As much as I love a good night’s sleep in a comfortable bed, it sounds like the tv snow camp at the station is much more fun! Thanks to the WBAL staff for being on the air and keeping us updated. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that this is the last big one for this winter!” (I’m with you Trish.)

And I’m not the only serious snow foodie out there…this from Amy…”I’m cooking: Breakfast: Potato O’Brien, egg and sausage casserole, fruit and juice….Lunch: Hoisin Shrimp, Seasme Tahini battered Chicken, Tabbouleh, salad…..Dinner: Just for Rob Roblin: Sausage Jambablaya with saffron rice, cornbread and don’t forget the hot sauce!!  Oh, and we’re baking cupcakes! Let the cooking games begin!!! I win!!! ”  (Holy hot skillet batman, I’m coming to your house, girl!)

From Thomas T…..” Donna,  We’re making the best out of the storm. we’ve made love a dozen times and now we’re cooking up some pot brownies. It’s tough times out there.. But here in Dundalk we know how to make the best out of the worst situations.. I mean, Christ.. We live in Dundalk. Life sucks when it’s 80 and sunny. Love your coverage.” (Hey I don’t make this stuff up….)

Assistant News Director's "kiddie" kamp-out kompound

This from ……Kathy C… “very cool I’m on my computer watching you all broadcast on TV. I had to check out the snow camp.”

And from Marge…”you go girl …I am so proud of your girl power, you and the rest of staff deserve special thanks …” Thanks from all of us Marge)

And from Brenda(who feels a little differently than some of you)..and I can dig your point of view Brenda…” Enough of the blah!blah! blah…. Having lived in Vermont for over twenty years, this is just the way it is. I understand your need to broadcast emergency information, but the 24-7 reporting is a little much. You tell people to “stay in” and then continue to interview/show people who have gone out, sending a mixed message. Report the NEWS – including the world news. There is more to life than Baltimore!” (Brenda, as H.L. Mencken  used to reply to his critics, of which there were plenty….You may be right…)

Note the camping shorts...he's ready for anything..

And last but not least….for those of you who didn’t believe me about the guy who wears shorts to work every day, no matter what …here’s what our monster truck caveman(and I say that with all fondness), wore today in a blizzard…told ‘ya.

7 Responses

  1. Enough of the blah!blah! blah…. Having lived in Vermont for over twenty years, this is just the way it is. I understand your need to broadcast emergency information, but the 24-7 reporting is a little much. You tell people to “stay in” and then continue to interview/show people who have gone out, sending a mixed message. Report the NEWS – including the world news. There is more to life than Baltimore!

  2. You guys have been wonderful all day today. How many hours have you and Marianne Bannister been on the air today, anyway???

  3. Hey Brenda…this ain’t Vermont and if u do not like it there’s a thing called the “off” button.

    I’m grateful for these guys staying on the air and letting us know 1st hand what is happening out there.

    You just keep on keeping on WBAL!

    Thanks,
    Trish

  4. My friend in Germany had called me, and she kidded saying.. gee, in 9 months on the east coast of the US will there be a blizzard baby boom? Could be a future news story to keep an eye on. LOL

  5. Brenda, let’s see…..this is a Baltimore station, so I believe people tune in to a Baltimore station to see news about Baltimore. Since Baltimore is having a historic series of winter storms, I think it’s appropriate for them to cover the storms. I, for one, am more interested in news on the storm, since I’m in the middle of it and it directly affects my life, than what’s going on in the rest of the world. When I get tired of the storm news, I turn to a national news network to see other news or I turn it off.

    Your complaint is like turning on ESPN and whining about them only covering sports! I can hear it now, “why doesn’t ESPN have stories on financial news, there is more to the world than sports!”

    So, like it or not, the NEWS in Baltimore is the storm!

  6. Donna, I hope the Doctors and Hospitals get ready for a bumper crop of babies in 9 months !

  7. To Thomas In Dundalk.
    Speak for yourself. Don’t make all of out to look like you. There are some great people here

Leave a Reply

