WELCOME to tv snow camp…..

have crockpot will travel....

When it gets really really really bad outside…like it’s going to get tonight and tomorrow and tomorrow night…and you really really really have to get to work, like I do, and like everyone with whom I work does, you head to tv camp. Now this camp can take two different forms…one is roughing it tv camp. That’s when people camp out at the tv station.  You see the evidence of that in the pics…crock pots, sleeping bags, blowup mattresses(no dolls), tons of  chips, drinks, breakfast stuff, boots, extra clothes, 3 bottles of nice wine(for one discerning wo-worker), chicken pot pies, blankies, pillows(one does want one’s own pillow)…you name it’s probably here.

my drive home from work last night...'nuff said...

And for others, there is a nearby hotel with actual beds! I shall be going there for the night, but I too have lots of crap to take with me. My laptop(hotel has wifi thank goodness), my Ipod and speakers(love my sleep music by Don Slepian), my yoga mat(forget that), some cookies, makeup, clothing, hair accoutrements, face accoutrements, you know…my stuff. Oh yeah, and my pillow. Those of us there will ferry over and back…that way they know where people are, and how to get to them. I made the huge mistake of not taking my things WITH ME yesterday morning so I had to drive home last evening to get them. A 15 minute drive only took me an hour! But got the stuff, and the hubbster kindly drove me to the hotel. I overlook the parking lot and a warm, lovely looking Williams Sonoma.

There’s an almost festive atmosphere…people running on coffee, granola bars and adreneline….that will wear a little thin later on …but right now, it’s a good spirit here, as everyone

6 Responses

  1. I’m cooking:

    Breakfast: Potato O’Brien, egg and sausage casserole, fruit and juice

    Lunch: Hoisin Shrimp, Seasme Tahini battered Chicken, Tabbouleh, salad

    Dinner: Just for Rob Roblin: Sausage Jambablaya with saffron rice, cornbread and don’t forget the hot sauce!!

    Oh, and we’re baking cupcakes! Let the cooking games begin!!! I win!!!

  2. you go girl I am so proud of your girl power you and the rest of staff deserve special thanks to all you and the team do Stay Safe

  3. Thanks to you and the rest of the crew for being there, and making sure we’re all kept up to date with what’s going on. 🙂

  4. very cool I’m on my computer watching you all broadcast on TV. I had to check out the snow camp.

  5. Donna,

    As much as I love a good night’s sleep in a comfortable bed, it sounds like the tv snow camp at the station is much more fun! Thanks to the WBAL staff for being on the air and keeping us updated. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that this is the last big one for this winter!

    Trish

  6. Were the other two TV hill tv stations in the same Hotel?
    And I herd that the reporters are dispursed in different motel’s around the state.

Leave a Reply

