Foodie delights for your weekend…..

Ok here’s the first one and it’s dead easy, and really good…I made it last night after work!! It’s called Chicken Ground Nut Stew….I know it sounds a little …awful…but it isn’t, and it is a variation of something cooked in the West Africa Peace Corp, but using Thai ingredients.

from the Peace Corps to you.....Chicken Ground-nut Stew

Here’s what you’ll need

1 can of coconut milk (highly recommend the brand  ‘A Taste of Thai’)
1 package of ‘A taste of Thai’ peanut sauce mix (use both envelopes in package)
1 can of water chestnuts
1 cooked (baked) and de-boned / de-skinned chicken – cut into approx 1-2″ pieces (Donna’s note: I also sautéed a red bell pepper, a bunch of green onions and fresh garlic and some fresh baby spinach at the end. Made it much prettier and much more healthy.)

1.  Shake coconut milk before adding to pan. This is important because a lot of the milk will stay clumped in the bottom of the can if you don’t shake it well. 
2.  Heat the milk to simmer
3.  Add the spices. 
4.  Stir together for 2 minutes (until the sauce is consistent)
5.  Add everything else and heat on medium low until boiling
6.  Boil on low for 2 minutes  …  and voila, you’re done! Serve over rice(and I like brown rice…healthier).    

Please take the bag away from me....

Next up: delicious crackers I found that are made on the Eastern Shore. Little Ragghi’s Crackers are yummy flat bread crackers made with olive oil and parmesan cheese. I’m eating one right now, and the flavor is just sooooo good. if you go to Ragghi’s website, you’ll find a list of where they’re sold and the story behind Raggi, which is pretty fascinating. I bought mine at Well’s Liquors on York Road…and picked up a bottle of wine for the weekend. Can’t wait to eat these with some cheese tonight!

Oysters, Gruyere, green onions and bacon..

Last, but not least…something I want to make this weekend, maybe Sunday night. It’s a recipe for Iron Skillet Oysters from Callie’s Biscuit Blog. I’ve told you about Callie’s before….their biscuits, which hale from Charleston are so very  very good, but I’m not gonna lie to you…they’re pricey. But they have some lovely and easy recipes on their blog….and this one really struck me as something I might like to make for Superbowl…and you don’t have to go outside…this recipe is made in the oven.  Fresh oysters, Gruyère cheese, bacon and green onions…what’s not to like?  So there you have it….3 suggestions to make your weekend a little more special…mostly simple, and people will love you for it. Play nice with others this weekend and come home safe….talk to you Monday!

3 Responses

  1. I’m intrigued by your Chicken Ground Nut Stew recipie. I love Thai food, maybe I’ll give it a try this weekend. Also, I hope your daughter is enjoying her new home. It’s a very exciting time in her life. How ’bout a pipcture of her in her diggs, we’ve seen your son and the lovely Jennifer! Anyway, thanks for the recipies… you have a safe weekend as well.

    Good luck to all the plungers; it looks like its gonna be a cold one.

    Ashley

    PS- You do realize Super Bowl is NEXT weekend right? I don’t want you to make your Iron Skillet Oysters on Sunday and then sit down with no game to watch (the Pro Bowl dosen’t count- so says my husband!)

  2. Ashley, I do realize that, but doesn’t it seem like it SHOULD be this weekend? It just seems odd in February. If the oysters work out Sunday, then maybe I will do them again. They sound so luscious. ( And by the way, I did not use an already cooked chicken, though you certainly could…I bought skinned and boned chicken thighs, cooked them and cut them up.)

  3. Bon Apetit!
    Glad you enjoyed it. This is one of several recipes that made it back to the U.S. and certainly a popular one among adults and kids of all ages. When we celebrate the Peace Corps 50th anniversary next year – we’ll undoubtedly be digging out additional recipes which we will pass on for sampling and sharing.

Leave a Reply

