C-Mart Lives Again!!!!!!!!!!!

I simply cannot tell you the happiness I felt, when the hubby spoke these words from the next room… in a tone of voice that this was something I might be interested in…”Looks like C-Mart is coming back…” 

“WHAT?”, I screamed….and ran in to grab the paper. And sure enough, there  was the article in the Baltimore Sun(and I have to tell you, I hear people saying “oh I don’t take the Sun anymore”….silliness…there are things in the Sun I won’t see anywhere else) about how C-Mart wouldn’t have the same name…the family doesn’t own the rights anymore, but it will be the same quirky place that so many of us loved and found fantastic bargains. For those of you who might have missed my dirge about bargains found and my sorrow, when C-Mart closed….here’s a link. I got some great stuff at C-mart, and while trying to help my daughter furnish her new apartment, more than once I thought sadly, “Oh, if only C-Mart was here….the stuff we could find.” And now it’s coming back, in its original location in Bel Air…ok, I wish it was the one in Joppatowne, but whatever, and will be called The Big Tarp Company Store. I can’t wait. Oh, and speaking of the girl’s apartment….she moved this weekend…details and pictures tomorrow. It’s looking pretty cute.

Oh, here’s a quote from the article to whet your appetite….”There will be $30,000 worth of products from a Vera Bradley boutique, 3,000 pairs of shoes from two department stores, and books from a Barnes & Noble truck that didn’t make it to stores because the front cabin caught fire.”  Done. CU@C-Mart.

5 Responses

  1. Dear Donna- I saw this in the Sun paper a couple of days ago and thought of you immediately. I knew you would be thrilled. I have never been to C mart but we may trek out to BelAir to check out The Big Tarp Country Store. Also I know what you are going through with your daughter moving out. You want them to be on their own but you really miss them. We went through it when my daughter went off to college, when she came back our son went in the service. Then she went on her own and he got married. A few years were empty but now we spend a lot of time with our grandchildren along with our children. It’s great.

  2. When I was a kid I went there with my grandparents. It was called Polan’s back then. ( I’m showing my age now.)

  3. Donna ~
    I think we all say from time to time “I wish that store were still around” although we know it’ll never happen. What a treat that C-Mart will be back for you to enjoy! I may have to check out this new store!

  4. Donna,
    We live in Stevensville and going to C-Mart was a real outing for us, so we were totally bummed when it closed. Thanks to you letting us know it has experienced a renaissance, we are full of joy!!!
    Thank you thank you thank you
    Gail from the Eastern Shore

  5. Donna and Crew…
    This is keith, owner of the tarp, cmart guy since 96 – I want to thank you and all of the great and loyal customers and employees past and present who share in our excitement as the hunt for the next big deal begins again…wednesday felt as much like a reunion as a grand opening event…its great to be back, the best is yet to come!

Leave a Reply

