Update on my ticker…and more…

This is how my heart looks on echocardiogram....

This is how my heart looks on echocardiogram....

OK, yesterday I had a day fullof doctor’s appointments….and I had my first echocardiogram…which if you don’t know, and I didn’t…is a sonogram of the heart. I was lying on the table, with the technician scanning my little ticker, and I wanted to get up and get my camera for a picture to show you how great it looked, but it seemed really rude to do that , so I drew you a picture instead(not really..a kid drew it..I’m not that talented). But you know what a sonogram of a fetus looks like right? The same, only it doesn’t have a face or arms and legs….and it’s beating!!

So I beat feet over to my cardiologist after it was over(good Lord, I hate writing I have a cardiologist…but there it is)…he looked at all my test results….”Blood tests for thyroid…normal. Echo…normal.  Blood pressure…normal.” He slaps the file shut and exclaims gleefully,  “I win!” By that he means he was correct that there was no underlying problem, just as he smugly predicted…I JUST NEEDED TO GIVE UP CAFFEINE. And I have.  There have no rapid heartbeats since I did that, a week ago. So, I guess the proof is in the pudding…no more “real” coffee for me…a small price to pay really. And my headache is finally gone. 

And now the bad news…calm yourselves…I am recharging the batteries people…you probably won’t hear from me for about a week and a half. But know that I am relaxing, maybe drinking a margarita every now and again, and just chilling. Deep cleansing breath everyone……say it with me…..aahhhhhoooooommmmmm. Have a lovely weekend…be good, play nice with others, do something sweet for someone that you don’t have to do(make some brownies)….and come home safe. Peace out!

6 Responses

  1. Enjoy your break, Donna! 🙂 Congrats on the good news (and it is good news because nothing more serious….!) from the Dr.

  2. I am glad you’re ok. Have a great vacation!

  3. Enjoy a wonderful restful time out~so glad you had great results. Will miss your blog while you are gone. Monica

  4. Donna,

    Enjoy your time off. We will miss you and your blogs, but you definitely deserve the break.

    Trish

  5. Donna…have a great time off…and congrats on a clean bill of health…

  6. I had a several episodes of atrial fibrillation a few years ago. After extensive heart testing/exams I was found to be fine. Diagnosis; caffeine, stress, etc. So I cut out coffee, began to exercise more and tried to stop stressing. I think more sleep helped as well. In addition I drink decaf coffee and tea and, sometimes I drink caffeinated tea now which seems to have no negative effects. GET MORE SLEEP.

Leave a Reply

