Someone in London needs my help…and yours!

Watch out !!

Watch out !!

I get this variety of email all the time...where someone needs to transfer a vast sum of money to this country and need your help…all you have to do is send them $500….you  know, blah, blah, blah….but this one made me laugh out loud, so I thought I’d share it with you. It’s a change of pace on the run of the mill scam email….

“Sorry I didn’t inform you about my traveling to London for a program( oh don’t apologize-you don’t know me) and am having some difficulties here because I misplaced my wallet on the way to the hotel (bad luck that) where my money and other valuables were kept.

Presently my passport and and my things are being held down by hotel management (well, tell them to get off your passport!)pending when I make payment. I will like you to assist me  with a loan of $3545 (I will like you to leave me alone)to sort-out my hotel bills and get myself back home. I will appreciate whatever you can afford to assist me with(I’m sure you would, sucker) . I’ll refund the money back to you as soon as I return (of course you would!)let me know if you can be of any help? ASAP.

Randy Gartner Integrated Market Services LLC”

Oh Randy, Randy…see what happens when you’re not careful with your things?  Hotel people hold your passport down and all your stuff too! And if I had $3500 dollars lying around, I would for sure send it to you. But as bad luck would have it, another chap in Nigeria also needed a loan, and all my spare funds have gone to him. What a dirty rotten shame. But let’s catch up when you do get back from London. I’m sure you’ll have some tales to tell. Perhaps some of my friends can help you….

Love, Donna

7 Responses

  1. Donna, This is actually a delightful story! Thanks

  2. Donna, I get these all the time! And infact I recived that same exact email!

  3. Dear Shannon,
    I am shocked that my club is not as exclusive as I imagined, but I hope you were able to help poor Randy, as I was not.

  4. Donna, could someone get a computer virus and accidentally send this email out? I know someone with that name and business name who would never be sending an email like that on purpose!

  5. Dorothy, if you know that person, you should let them know asap that their name is being used by a scammer. Wow, will they be shocked….

  6. Are you implying that Randy isn’t going to pay me back? I’m convinced Randy will pay me back, he said he would! He took time out of his day to email me for help!

    I’m truly amazed sometimes at how gullible the scammers think people are…but someone must be gullible enough to fall for it or they wouldn’t be trying it.

    As for me, I’m going to be rich from the money that Microsoft is sending me for testing their email forwarding software! I’ve been checking my mailbox for 5 years now, but I know that check is coming! NOT!

    Be safe folks, no one is going to just send you money out of the blue like that. Remember, if it sounds too good to be true, chances are that it is!

  7. Also let Randy (or anyone else, for that matter, that receives this e-mail) know that he needs to make some security changes…. this e-mail was circluated to me – all the while using my dad’s name and e-mail account (someone hacked into it). Luckily he found out very quickly and was able to contact everyone that they were not to send him any money, that he in fact was not in London and that he now has a new e-mail account.

Leave a Reply

