Gratitude and Envy…how to feel both at the same time!

I picture the villa like this(in my head)....
I picture the villa like this(in my head)….

One of my favorite co-worker/friends is back from vaca…she traveled with her entire family…parents, husbands, and kids in tow,  to France. Provence to be exact. How idyllic is that? They stayed in a fabulous country villa decorated in shades of grey and white, drank white wine, made daily visits to the village fromagerie and boulangerie, and days trips to Arles and Paris, and the best part…at least one of the best…her parents footed the tab, I mean hosted the trip. That’s…just…not…fair.
All of us here were alternately pea green with envy and wildly curious for all the details. “How cold was the white wine?” “How fresh was the bread?” “How long did you sit on the terrace overlooking the vineyards?” You know what I mean.
We couldn’t get enough, like thirsty stragglers on the desert. If it had happened to someone I like less, it would have been truly painful. As it was I was able to enjoy it vicariously, as a really thirsty straggler, who has not been on holiday all summer, and will not be on holiday for the dog days of August.
One reporter here, who I shall not name, asked, “Your whole family was there, and there wasn’t any drama at all??” When she assured this person that there was a wee bit of drama, and indeed, when is there not on a family trip, they breathed a tiny sigh of relief.  OK, there’s the envy part of my day. To hell with France.
The gratitude part? Well, there are two parts to it. The first..I gota call last night from myson in New York. As you may know, this is not an everyday occurance. The lovely Jennifer will call me, and sometimes at the end of our convo, she will say to my son, who is also in the room, “Do you want to say hi to your Mom?” I can almost feel the resigned look he gives her, which is to say, “What else can I say now…no?” So he he replies with somewhat forced enthusiasm, “Sure!”  Perhaps I imagine all this, but still, it is nice when he calls me, because I know he wants to talk to me. And he called with good news about his new wife of whom he is understandably proud. “Jen is gonna be an American Express Featured Card Holder!” Honestly I wasn’t sure exactly what that meant, but I knew it had to be good, and quite an honor for her fledgling business to be included, so I though you might also enjoy it. Here’s the link!

Not my dog, but cute nonetheless....
Not my dog, but cute nonetheless….

And the other gratitude I pass along compliments of Ojas Yoga…my yoga place, that comes from their monthly wellness newsletter, about how we can all take a lesson in life and happiness fromyour dogs. Enjoy…ruff.
When it’s in your best interest, practice obedience.
Let others know when they’ve invaded your territory.
Take naps and stretch before rising.
Run, romp and play daily.
Avoid biting when a simple growl will do.
On warm days, stop to lie on your back in the grass.
On hot days,  drink lots of water and lie under a shady tree.
No matter how often you’re scolded, don’t buy into the guilt thing and pout. Run right back and make friends.
Delight in the simple joy of a long walk.
Eat with gusto and stop when you’ve had enough.
Be loyal.
Never pretend to be something you’re not.
If what you want lies buried, dig until you find it. (Like a holiday in Provence!) XOXO

7 Responses

  1. Ah Provence! I was fortunate enough to spend a month and a half in Cheval-Blanc, just outside of Cavillon near Avignon while apprenticing with master-chef Alain Nicolet. It was wonderful! I boarded in a house in town and did everything the French do. I can’t wait to go back.

  2. Dear Paul,
    I hate you.
    XOXO
    Donna

  3. My recent vacation (just got back last Tuesday) included a day in Beverly Hills… my best friend and I went to the Jose Eber Atelier salon for a beauty stop. (got my hair cut by Jose himself… 🙂 ) Then a run to Sprinkles cupcakes. Then a stop at the Panini cafe in Beverly Hills. Finished by a window shopping walk along Rodeo Drive. On another day, I spent some time walking along the beach at Coronado, California, watching a pod of dolphins leaping offshore. France? Who needs France? 😉 Yeah, my vaca was pretty good too.

  4. LOL

  5. Sounds like a great vacation they had. By any chance could this lucky person be the one who you filled in for on lastweeks newscasts?

  6. And she’s an Excel expert. I could have used that when I was taking my IT course at Stevenson University – but after trying and trying I finally mastered it.

  7. Dear Nicole,
    I hate you too…though I must tell you I did have my hair cut by the glorious Jose Eber years ago…I felt soooo glamous.
    And Ryan…the answer is no…but a good guess as to the identity of the lucky person.
    Donna

Leave a Reply

