No Show Today!!

Tigers Happy Dance...I can relate...

Tiger's Happy Dance...I can relate...

OK, number one…an apology for not blogging all this week…sometimes the week just gets by me.  Scusi…pardone…you know. Anyway…when I came in this morning, Mindy Basara rushed over….ok, that means news, and not the kind you put on television, if you know what I mean. And it just so happens, in this instance, I can share it with you. Other times, I’d get sued or fired, so….sorry. 

Did you know there’s no 5:00 show tonight?” , she exclaimed…I probably looked pretty dazed and confused…”noooo“, I say slowly. She explains, “It’s golf !” Oh yeah, I do remember seeing something on The Today Show this morning about the U.S. Open starting today, and wondered how it might impact  Eleven News at Five, and now I know..it’s blowing it out of the water…today and tomorrow. So I will not have the pleasure of sharing that hour together with you, that quality time that we usually get…I will be…ummmm…well, blogging, for one thing. Now that I don’t have a newscast to think about, that frees up time for this very thing.

And I have my mammogram today….so I won’t feel so pressured to get in and out like a flash. I was writing a story just a couple of weeks ago, about how mammograms have dropped in the U.S., across all age and socioeconomic groups, and I thought to myself….when was my last mammogram? I called and got the answer…2007. Oooops. So I made my appointment right then and there, and today is the day!  I know a lot of people dread them…but you know, it’s just a moment of discomfort, some would call it pain…but just when you get ready to say, “Hey lady that really hurts!”, it stops. I can take anything for a second or two.

Tomorrow there is no 5:00 newscast as well….so I will write a story that I had to get written anyway…I’ll just have more time to do it, and maybe work on some other projects for the future. Maybe I’ll even get crazy and eat lunch out, instead of at my desk….imagine that! But no worries, I will be back with you again…Monday, at five o’clock…and yes, I will watch the U-S Open. And while I like the rest of the world, worship at the feet of the the master, Tiger Woods…I will secretly root for Angel Cabrera to pull off an upset. I like him….but I don’t know…Tiger is healthy this year, which makes him seem insurmountable, but you never know. You just never know.

5 Responses

  1. Donna, I was missing you but thought you just didn’t have much to write about due to the “weather” … good to hear from you and glad to hear that you get some unexpected “free time” to yourself … enjoy! … see ya Monday

  2. I see I’m not the only one to have routine disrupted by golf. Your disruption sounds better than mine. I always look forward to 5pm news and now just starting to get back to normal after hosting the LPGA all last week I am once agained inconveinienced by professional golf. Bummer, but enjoy it while you can, do something fun and get the jump on the weekend!

  3. Donna,

    It’s great to have you back. I have become addicted to your blogs and to go a few days without them is not fun!

    While I am a Tiger fan, I think the person I really want to see win the US Open is Phil Mickelson. The story about his wife and her breast cancer diagnosis and how she wants a silver trophy for her hospital room…I get goosebumps just writing about it. Like you said, you never know.

    Trish

  4. Ah yes golf ends at 5:00 PM and Oprah is on at 5:00 in lieu of news. Why preempt the news for a rerun of Oprah?

  5. Donna,
    Shame on you! Two years since you had a mammogram!
    I thought you and one of your sisters had a deal about self-exams on the 11th of every month? I seem to remember that from somewhere. Hope everything turns out well. Early detection makes all the difference (but you know that!). Glad you are back.
    Cindy

Leave a Reply

