It’s graduation day….

Wheeee...its over!!

Wheeee...it's over!!

I wrote about my daughter in a post couple of years ago… (can it be that long?), about how high school doesn’t define you, and that even kids who have had difficulties  in middle school or grade school, whether they were the nerdy kid everyone made fun of, or a popular girl who had problems no one could see, or a kid that had learning disabilities that made him feel dumb….there are better times ahead. You too can go to college..there’s one for everybody…and create a new life for yourself. High school doesn’t define you.

And I wrote in particular about my sweet daughter, who had her own struggles in high school…I have the report cards to prove it. Those were complicated times for all of us. But tomorrow, and here’s the hope for all of you out there with kids who are struggling…. my girl graduates from college tomorrow.  I’m so proud of her. Because even though she struggled there too, I kept telling her…”You just need to get through and get your degree. You just need to get through.” And she has. And she has come out on the other side perhaps wiser than kids who easily sailed through school. She knows what it’s like to have to tell your parents you have another bad grade, what it’s like to really have to dig down deep and work harder, she knows herself better, I think, than kids on whom the sun shines all the time. Though it would be lovely to be one of those kids.

So to my daughter who will no doubt read this…she and her friends read my blog….(Her friend Heidi said the other day, “You got a whole sentence in your Mom’s blog!”, meaning that I’ve been a little wedding obsessed lately.), I salute you my daughter. When you could given up , you didn’t. When you could have justifiably been surly and mean, you weren’t. ( not much..) One day you will pass along to your daughter the lessons you have learned…the things you have dared to try…sometimes failing, but you tried. You are intelligent, funny, beautiful…and such a sweet spirit.  I have no doubt made many mistakes raising you, but you forgave me. As Maya Angelou said, “Make every effort to change things you do not like. If you cannot make a change, change the way you’ve been thinking. You may find a new solution.” And you somehow always did that. You may not see me in the crowd tomorrow, but you’ll know that I am there….watching… another proud mother.

12 Responses

  1. Donna,

    Wow! Today’s blog brought tears to my eyes! What a beautiful tribute to your daughter. She is very lucky to have such a wonderful mother. Congratulations to her on her graduation. Enjoy the day!

  2. Congratulations on her graduation!! Best wishes for her future!

  3. Donna, Congratulations to you for supporting your wonderful daughter as she successfully completed this phase of her life. Congratulations to your daughter for striving to be successful and completing such an awesome task. You are right on about her coming out on the other side wiser and knowing herself better – she’ll appreciate what she has accomplished more than someone who just “has it” and didn’t have to struggle to get it – Enjoy your successes!

  4. Donna,

    I’ve gotten a little teary, too, reading about your daughter’s graduation and the lovely words to her you shared with us.. Many congratulations to your daughter… and of course to proud Mom as well.

  5. I’m with Trish your blog brought tears to my eyes……Congratulations to you and to your daughter and best wishes to her for the future…..

    Tina

  6. Ohh, Donna…you’ve got my mascara runnning!!! Happy graduation!! I have one graduating from H.S. at the end of the month. Where does the time go?!

  7. Ms. Hamilton,

    I happened on this photo quite by accident while doing some
    reminiscing on Birmingham AL. ( I grew up there. ) You were
    at Channel 6 at the time. I was maybe 11 years old. 🙂

    probably you’ve seen this b4, but if not, thats ok too. 🙂

  8. HI everyone….hope you’re having a good weekend…graduation went so beautifully…an enjoyable day for sure. And my son came down from New York for it, the lovely Jennifer a week before her wedding was understandably busy…as the four of us were sitting at a leisurely lunch after the ceremony, I thought…will be the last time, maybe THE last time just the four of us eat together. It was nice. And Timothy…I have seen the picture…and the cast you see there around me were original and memorable characters…especially Country Boy Eddie…that’s him on the far right. He did a LIVE 5-7 am Monday-Friday country music show. It was a stitch!

  9. Donna;
    I just started reading your blog and this entry about your daughter hits close to my heart as I too have a daughter who struggles in many ways but keeps trying. She is a freshman in high school and it is so good to hear about your daughter’s accomplishment. Congrats to you also for all the support and love you have given her so that she could make it to this point.
    Mary

  10. Donna,
    So glad I came across this post. I remember when you wrote about your daughter and her troubles in high school; I responded to that pose because we had those issues with our son while he was in high school. He is doing well, and will graduate from Salisbury in December 09. And, as Susan noted, above, he does appreciate it more than those kids who just sail through school without a worry. We are very proud of him, as you are of your daughter. Congrats!
    Nancy

  11. I’m overdue in saying thank you to all for the kind words and congrats…I have passed them along to my daughter. And Nancy, congratulations on your son’s accomplishments…he’s made it. And to Mary, keep reminding you daughter….it does get better…you don’t have to be perfect, just don’t stop trying. She too will make it through the gauntlet!
    XOXO
    Donna

  12. Celebrity fanpage…

    […]It’s graduation day…. « Hamilton's Habitat[…]…

Leave a Reply

