Earth Day Flotsam and Jetsam….

Let’s be honest I’ve been a bad blogger this week…very bad, but it has been a busy busy busy week. Last weekend I was in New York to check out wedding stuff…the park , the restaurant, the loft where we are staying AND having a party. And I’m kind of rethinking the “Oh I can do that” mentality. Yeah.  I think I could use some help, so there is another search.

Wet Earth Day....

Wet Earth Day....

But still…it’s earth day, and while it was a soggy drive into work, I ws thinking how appropriate it is that the thing that keeps us all going on this little planet….the rain….is involved in this day. One day I was kind of whining (sorry) about the rain that had been going on for a few days, and Chief Meteorologist Tom Tasselmayer….wouldn’t you know it would be him…said, “Have you ever stopped to think about what  a miracle the rain is?”  So…think about that the next time a rainy day depresses you!

Let’s see…what else….Sandy wrote in about  composting(also appropriate for Earth Day…” For 4 years I’ve composted all the veggie and fruit waste at the Inn and restaurant. To keep fruit flies at bay, I use a large cookie container with a screw top, then every few days we empty it… works wonders!” Thanks Sandy…that’s a good idea….

Erin wrote in about my Puttanesca post saying ” I just wanted to thank you for the recommendation! Immediately after reading your blog on Friday, I clicked on the La Scala website and made reservations. My husband and I aren’t foodies like you, but we thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience and LOVED our meals. ”  Sandy, you are welcome. We do what we can for foodies in training.

And this from Nicole….” Do enjoy reading your blog… One subject I’m curious to hear from you on in your blog… the Susan Boyle thing (British talent lady?). Curious what your feelings and your opinions are on the subject!” Nicole, my thoughts really have been…why is everybody so shocked and amazed that an older woman who is not a beauty can actually sing. Ohmigod!! It’s incredible! Unbelievable!! How can someone so…so…ummm…eyebrow challenged can have a lovely voice????? What a premium we put on beauty in this world….sad really. But for Susan, I am thrilled. And as others have noted, she does indeed have the voice of an angel. Perhaps now others will see for what she has always been, a lovely talented woman, deserving of note.

One Response

  1. Donna, I too enjoy your blog and miss it, and you, when you don’t post but life is busy and I guess there’s no time to post everyday. Earth day for me was celebrated a day earlier when I was off for the afternoon. I set about trimming my (hopefully) beautiful albiet barren hydrangea’s for this coming season and I wondered … how is Donna’s little potted hydrangea that she had placed on her porch last year (or the year before) doing? … so Donna, howsit doing?

Leave a Reply

