Westbound for Southland…..

No Ryan no...put down the gun!!

No Ryan no...put down the gun!!

Ok, I really liked Ryan….you know…Ryan? The poor kid from Chino on The O.C. who lucked out and lived with a rich family in a fabulous house and had a fabulous girlfriend(several) in Newport Beach CA? Remember? All I’m saying is that I’m kinda predisposed to like NBC’s new copudrama Southland, because of Ryan…who is now rookie officer Ben Sherman, who from the looks of it, is having a bad first day at work.  And if you have some spare time today, you can see the premiere episode online before it airs tonight…my, how times have changed.

 

But there’s this one line in a promo that made me laugh, although it wasn’t supposed to be funny. I don’t think. Another older officer says to little Ben with grea intensity…”You’re a police officer because you don’t know how NOT to be one.” Hmmmmm.  Say again? Let’s see how that plays out…”I’m a news anchor because I don’t know how NOT to be one.”  Actually I do know how not to be one…I’ve done it before. I just prefer being one.

Or this…”You’re a real estate agent because you don’t know how  NOT to be one.” Right now some are feeling they know exactly how it feels not to be one….as a friend in the biz told me the other day they now call it the “Show-tell…no-sale” business, cuz people ain’t buying….at least not very much.

You see what I’m saying….it’s just a silly line that doesn’t make any sense, and I’m hoping they have better in the show. Clearly NBC has high hopes for  Southland…..it will be in E.R.’s time slot….after one of the funniest and best written shows on tv….Tina Fey’s 30 Rock . If you’ve never seen it, shame on you.  It’s a tough act to follow. Oh and another promo that was a little cheesey(no fault of the show)….. when they used the music “Orange Sky” as the background music…it was used on the O.C. and is on one of their cds….so I’m guessing they thought it would subliminally evoke fond memories of The O.C. and Ryan and maybe transfer our feelings of love for him to Southland. Actually…it may have worked. I’m watching tonight….if you’ve never heard Alexi Murdoch’s song…have a listen. It’s pretty.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

