The odd, odd world of the blogosphere….includes me.

So many factoids....

So many factoids....

From time to time, I actually look at the stats about my blog….really, it’s more interesting than you might think(and that’s probably not very interesting), but it’s amazing to me how they gather all these factoids.  You can see a graph of the number of people to hit your blog over the past days, weeks and even months. …what a rollercoaster…And they tell you which of your blogs have been viewed the most since you first embarked on your uncertain journey into the blogosphere.

How many hits have I had since I began blogging?  As of this morning, 127,832.

Which blog has had the most views? This one may surprise you . For a few months,  it was Captain Underpants and the Angry Angel….a post I wrote last Halloween about the little boy who went bonkers on the Today Show, when his Dad displayed him in some tightie-whities and a weird bald hat. Seriously, I didn’t blame the kid for being a little upset, and it was weird. But lots of people must have heard about the incident and been searching for the video of it…this I didn’t have but I did have a picture and through searches, 1,298  people have found their way to that blog since then., and I still get hits on it.

Do they pass the sniff test??

Do they pass the sniff test??

But Captain Underpants has been overtaken by another blog I wrote last fall….about the extremely serious cultural problem of…..Stinky Uggs. 1,410 people suffer from this embarrassing and pesky condition and wonder what to do about them. And yes, I have an answer.

Third place is about another malady that must be sweeping the nation….mango allergy….that I wrote about in a blog called A Matter of Mangoes, after my daughter came down it herself…..Who knew that if you’re allergic to poison ivy, you may also develop an allergy to delicious mangoes. Lots of people do not know!

In fourth place, is I’m Not Intimidated by my Son’s Genius Girlfriend….all about the lovely and very smart Jennifer. And fifth is still one of my favorites just because of the oddball quality of it all….A Four-legged Woman is My Cousin….she really is.

The most single viewed day ever, was Thursday October 16th, when I wrote about my son’s engagement to the lovely Jennifer. And how do people find their way to my blog if they don’t see it on the WBAL website?  This I find really fascinating…these are search terms people used that led them to Hamilton’s Habitat….grits habitat…sticky Uggs…torture shoe…mango allergy… how do you pronounce tarte tatins(alas, they found how to make one but no pronunciation guide…just for the record, it is tart tah-tahn’)…today show boy in costume scream….woman with 4 legs….blood spot on eyeball(yes I wrote about it)….you get the idea. Such a serendipitous world out there that links us all together. In that spirit, I wish you all a lovely weekend…even if you have to work. Enjoy the journey.

4 Responses

  1. That’s really interesting, Donna. I am fairly new to your blog and I really enjoy checking it daily. For the record, as an avid Uggs fan (4 pairs of boots and 2 clogs) I found that particular blog very informative. Fortunately, none of mine smell, yet! I have my eye on a pair of the crochet style, maybe in a bright spring color. They are so comfy and have kept me warm during many a soccer or lacrosse game. Enjoy your weekend as well!

  2. Donna,
    I don’t care how, why, when or where…….I love your blog. I update my husband everytime you have something to share (that I think he might enjoy – smelly uggs not so much). He calls you my new BFF. Keep them coming!!

  3. I really enjoy reading your blog, I usually read it while I eat lunch at work – I think one of my favorite blogs of all time was the cuffed assassin (sp?). I can relate to that – having almost fallen flat on my face when my shoe heel caught the cuff in mid-stride! Now when I wear cuffed pants I make a concentrated effort NOT to walk too fast and I always think of your blog – which makes me laugh, mostly at myself! Keep up the blog!

  4. Great site this hamiltonshabitat.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

Leave a Reply

