Twilight Fever spreads through the newsroom….

 

Three down, only one to go.....

Three down, only one to go.....

As I previously mentioned, I have been a bit embarrassed to admit that I have been reading the Twilight book series by Stephanie Meyer…..but I’ve had others to admit they are similarly addicted….like Amber who wrote this: 

 Thank goodness, I am not the only one. My niece received these for Christmas and thinking nothing really of it I told her after she was done with the first to let me borrow it to read. I have always been a little bit of a vampire type person, meaning I like vampire stories but reading a 500+ page book DEFINITELY not a desire I could relate to. I started reading book one around Jan 3rd it was done by Jan 6ththen my niece wasn’t finished with New Moon and I could not wait so I bought the next 3 without even thinking twice. I couldn’t put the book down besides yes the normal desire to throw the book across the room when Edward left and a couple times in Jacob’s perspective in Breaking Dawn. I was a little embarrassed  with my infatuation with the series since it is a “young adult” novel. Wonderful work now I can not wait for more to come and waiting for the movies is like waiting for Edward to come back horrible and painful.”

 Yes, Amber, I know the pain of which you speak. And just so you know…this is not just a female phenomenon. A man with whom I work, has privately admitted his own little Twilight monkey on his back. He actually blames his wife…she had bought the book and horrors, shamelessly left it lying around, where he might pick it up. He did, and in his words,”There I was 150 pages later….” He, like me, has now finished the first three books…only Breaking Dawn remains. And he agrees with me that Bella is a tad irritating…seriously, if that girl’s heart doesn’t stop skipping beats and thumping wildly in her chest, I’m taking her personally to a cardiologist. But I digress. This guy’s  shame is complete at liking these books, thus asked that his name and job not be revealed. And there were some veiled threats about cold water, and  no more “caring and sharing” sessions, where we reveal our most appalling secrets to each other. This is one of his.  Yes, there will be those of you who tryto uncover his identity, but to no avail. It’s in the vault. Lockbox. And other Twilight confessions will be accepted here….and it might make you feel better, getting it off your chest, like getting that monkey off your back.

One Response

  1. I’m totally addicted, too. I sneak away and reread some of the books over and over. I shoved the book under my pillow the other night so my husband wouldn’t say, “Again?”

    It is very embarrassing and I don’t know why I just can’t kick the habit.

    Did you see the movie?

Leave a Reply

