Life in High Definition….

There has been much anticipation about the debut of HD here at WBAL-TV…lots of hard work by many people , especially those who work behind the scenes(what else is new?)…long and frequent practice sessions to work the new equipment….after all, it’s not just flipping a switch and everyone does everything just like they did before. I’d explain more about it, but honestly, I don’t understand it. But everything is new and different, OK? Everything. And that takes some getting used to.

Our first broadcast was Saturday night after that fabulous overtime playoff game on NBC (yes, I was bummed at first about the OT thing, but it was a great game)….and who was in the shotgun seat? That’s right, your truly. I thought I’d feel more nervous than I did….but everything went off pretty much without a hitch. Or if there was one, I didn’t see it. But I think I speak for everyone who works in front of the camera, when I say there is a huge collective sense of relief that things are gonna be ok….that we will look ok…maybe better….and there is life after HD. Just breathe.

And for those of you (and there are lots) who don’t have HD, it ain’t no big deal. But when you do get a new set, you’ll see what I mean. My good friend Clare who you may remember from the head shaving post, just got a new tv and cable! She laughingly told me, “We were those people you guys are talking about having rabbit ears and an old set!!” But not anymore…they too, have entered the high def era. At last. So for those of you who are not yet there, we’ll be here waiting for you when you do. And when you do get your set hooked up and the HD signal in…I hope you see something spectacular, like I did when mine was first connected a couple of years ago…the lighting of the Rockefeller Center Christmas tree. Wow. I couldn’t believe how beautiful it was. Now, I’m quite the HD snob. It hurts me…physically hurts me to watch a football game notin HD. Sad, isn’t it?

And to those of you who have written in saying we look nice in HD…thanks, from the bottom of my insecure little heart.

(NOTE: You can learn more about our HD set and view photos by going here.

6 Responses

  1. Donna,

    I have Comcast and the box they provide to be able to access all the great new “stuff” including HDTV on my brand new Sony HDTV. However, I don’t believe I am able to recieve WBAL in HD. I live in Northern Frederick County which for the FCC seems to be in the Washington Metro area. I can get channel 4 (WRC) on Comcast HD channel 211 and I can see a remarkable difference in picture quality. So when I watch NBC shows I turn the box to 211. But I have been a faithful WBAL viewer, and Donna Hamilton fan, for many, many years so when it comes to local news, weather, and sports I tune to WBAL channel 11. Where I live I also have access to WHAG 25 channel 12 on Comcast (NBC Hagerstown). Some years ago they were talking about cutting our access to only be able to view one of each of the major networks. I hope that never happens because I find that I have more in common with Baltimore then I do with either Wasington or Hagerstown. Anyway, I wish I could say I can watch you in the wonderful new HD but I can’t. One thing I would add, I couldn’t think you folks at WBAL could look any better on HD. Perfect is perfect!

  2. Bob that is one of the major been airing commericals saying that they will rquestions I’ve had about the whole zoning matter. I assume its just a matter of coverage by the power of ones transmitter and the nielson markets. I suggest after the 17th you could try to receive WBALHD with an antenna, WBAL said they are reducing their analog signal on Jan 21, inorder to finish their digital facility which according the FCC should provide expanded digital coverage. I know if you have Verizon Fios in Anne Arundel and Howard County you can get both the DC and Baltimore Stations and their HD feeds too.

    All I know is that I am a Comcast HD suscriber and before they installed the box, I used an antenna briefly and couldnt receive WBAL’s HD signal when I live only 15 miles from the transmitter. Oddly enough I could receive WGAL in Lancaster, PA some 40 miles away perfectly.

    Donna, the new set looks great, and you and every anchor looks great in HD. One question, when will the live satellite trucks go HD as well as HD syndication of Regis, Ellen, and Oprah?

  3. Also I should suggest they clean the glass on the newsdesk more often. On Sunday nights 11 PM news you could see it was covered with hand prints.

  4. Dear Bob, I am distressed that you cannot receive WBAL in HD…that’s a rotten shame. As for Ryan’s suggestions, (what I understand of it), I agree you could try bringing the signal in with an antennae…I do that for a tv at home. And Ryan….message received about the hand prints. Yikes…where’s the Windex??
    And as for the other shows….we’re working on that.

  5. Basically I should have said after February 21st see if you can receive WBAL HD with an antenna.

  6. Donna, I tunned in last night in true HD for the first time since we got our new LCDHDTV for Christmas. WOW says it all! I had been watching on my wbalhd channel but did not realize that you weren’t broadcasting in HD yet. That’s a huge difference. The new set looks great too. Congrats! did you get dibs on the remote lift tv? Oh yeah, I have the same phone and mine is acting up too.

Leave a Reply

