It’s that crazy-making time of year….

Im sorry about what this picture does to my nose...its not that big.....

I'm sorry about what this picture does to my nose...it's not that big.....

It’s starting…I’m beginning to have that tight, achy feeling in my back between my shoulder blades….I never get that until I start getting really stressed. Oh yeah, and there’s kind of a crazy look in my eyes…take today, for instance. I’m off after today through xmas week…which is a great thing, but today I need to write a story for air next week, I have recycling in my car that needs to taken to the recycling place, I’m starting to worry about gifts that have not been delivered(where are they and will they come next week?), today is the WBAL party here at the station, and I need to drop by there at lunchtime…which is good…you can schmooze and get lunch all at the same time….I have a ton of calls I need to make, including one to Cover Girl Cosmetics, to let them know a a story featuring them (about why many of us cannot, cannot resist a new product on the makeup aisle) will air tomorrow at five. Oh, and there’s a newscast to edit, makeup to put on, hair to do, and I’m having company over tomorrow night for dinner….what on earth am I serving…I really need to write out a little food plan, so I don’t miss anything. Except my sanity.

It’s time for deep breathing…deep belly yoga breathing. Or my back might do that funny thing it did last Christmas Eve….I was seriously flat on my back and could not move. My family had to cook dinner(they did a great shrimp and butternut risotto). And looking back on it, I’m pretty sure it was just plain old stress, that I totally put on myself, like Dr. John Sarno talks about.  I’m not gonna do that again….my mantra, which I keep repeating…is “things don’t to be perfect , things will NOT be perfect, and that’s ok”. My boss Michelle just stopped by desk, and told me how she actually bakes pecan pies for about 6 neighbors every year. Every freaking year! And she is freaking out because she doesn’t know when she’s gonna do them this year. Hmmmmm. I sense a theme here.

Maybe it just comes with the territory of the holidays that this pervasive sense of duty and tradition and obligation and perfectionism comes out in all of us. Or some of us, anyway. I just took a deep belly yoga breath. It was good. I’ll take another one later. Oh yeah, and even though I will be off….I will also be blogging through the holidays. I’ll just put it on the to-do list.

4 Responses

  1. Donna,

    Thanks for today’s blog. It’s good to know that I’m not the only one stressing over last minute preparations! Love your mantra! I think I need to incorporate that into my life. As every previous year, I’m sure we will all survive the Holiday Craziness! I wish you and your family a joyous Christmas and a healthy New Year!

    Trish

  2. Donna,
    As always, that for yet another spot on post…something must be in the air.
    Have a Wonderful & Safe Holiday.
    -Amy

  3. I feel this year is an exception if you don’t get everything done that is usually done every other year. We are going through a recession and it appears Christmas shopping is one of the last things people have on their minds. I’m sure everyone will be thankful just to see you on Christmas! As those of us who still do…are thankful to have a job. Have a safe, happy & merry Christmas!

  4. Just relax! It will all be over by this time next week. And you can start planning for next year right away! Sure you will. Now I am just going to have another drink and maybe, just maybe when I am finished everything will be purchased, wrapped, and under the tree. And all of the food will be bought and prepared. Now if only I could find my red shoes and click my heels together. Merry Christmas everyone!

Leave a Reply

