Meeting the Mekhutonim…in Pittsburgh!!

First, I want to let you know, Momma’s Cornbread Dressing was fabulous. Really, really good…all moist and luscious, like dressing should be, not just a bowl of croutons. The turkey which we had brined  overnight in a bath of brown sugar and kosher salt, was so flavorful and tender. I don’t really understand what brining does to a bird(supposedly the salt tenderizes it), but it really makes a DNA change in turkey. Try it next year, or at Christmas.  I guarantee you won’t be disappointed with the results.

One of a million bridges in Pittsburgh!

One of a million bridges in Pittsburgh!

The next morning we hopped an 8 am flight to Pittsburgh….Steeler Town…town of many bridges…and much more importantly, the home of the lovely Jennifer, my son’s fiancee. Now, this wasn’t as stressful as you might imagine, chiefly because we had shared a couple of days with my future mekhutonim Maine, summer a year ago, and loved them. (For those of you who do not speak Yiddish, like myself, that is the name for in-laws or relatives, and Jennifer’s lovely Mother Jill is Jewish, so we will be…mekhutonim!) So that freaky, stressful whatwilltheythinkofme part was over. But still, you have to be on your best behavior and everything(wow, it just crossed my mind they may be thinking-that was her best behavior??), because there was a party Friday night where we met lots and lots and lots of their friends. I didn’t say any bad words, I smiled a lot, tried to be helpful and kind, and was generally a delightful party guest. Ask anyone who was there. And that was smiling even though my feet were killing me, literally, by the evening’s end as I had chosen fashionable shoes, but not shoes designed to be stood in for hours on end, but I had only myself to blame on that count. Still, those shoes rocked.

I met Jennifer’s sister Kate, who is tres chic, as is her Grandmother (Nana) Sylvia. Seriously, I’ve never seen a woman in her 80s(sorry to rat you out Sylvia), who is so slim, so well-dressed, so…youthful. It’s something to aim for….I kid you not.

Corned beef hash and eggs at Pamelas...

Corned beef hash and eggs at Pamela's...

And we saw the sights….a breakfast at Pamela’s….where the line snakes down the block waiting for their famous pancakes, but I wisely  chose the homemade corned beef hash and eggs. I’ve loved it ever since I traveled through out west as a child on a car trip to California. As an Alabama girl who had only seen grits as a side to eggs, having corned beef has on the breakfast menu in Albuquerque was a gustatory revelation. I did sneak a bit of the hubby’s pancakes….fabulous. Oh, and bring cash…no cards.

I wasnt supposed to take a picture but I didnt know that until it was already taken, and really, why waste it?

I wasn't supposed to take a picture but I didn't know that until it was already taken, and really, why waste it?

Leaving there we hit the Andy Warhol Museum….he was a Pittsburgh homeboy if you didn’t know, even though he dropped the a from the family name of Warhola as a youth….the reason unknown. But it was a fascinating place, thought Jill observed it was the fastest she had ever seen a group get through any museum…an hour and a half….we could have stayed longer, but there were thosein our group, with ummmm…shorter attention spans. Their identities will be protected.

And then, what trip to Steeler-town would be complete without a trip to a place that sells expensive jeans?

Jean, jeans, jeans, jeans, jeans!!!

Jean, jeans, jeans, jeans, jeans!!!

The Pittsburgh Jean Company does that, and then some. No black Friday sales for them, baby…you want these jeans, get out your Amex…no, I’m sorry…make that Mastercard or Visa. No Amex there. I didn’t buy any, neither did Jennifer, or my sweet daughter(through she did talk me into a cashmere sweather on sale-her reward for being charming all weekend), but sister Kate did partake in pricey denim. Way to keep the economy going Katester!

And here’s the best part….at the end of the weekend and we flew home Sunday, I felt really good about the whole thing. It was one of those experiences that makes you feel so happy about your kid’s choice of a mate. I love Jennifer…I love her Mom and Dad…I love sister Kate(and her little black poodle Chloe)…and I love Nana….Sylvia I mean.  My soon to be mekhutonim.I just couldn’t be happier about the whole thing. And the best part is how my son and Jennifer feel about each other. I wish youu coould see the way they look at each other. What a brokhe. Look it up!

One Response

  1. Hi Donna, I’m an editor for 10best.com and ran across your blog. I noticed that you had linked back to us. You have a great blog with such fresh and informative content. I would like to invite you to visit 10best.com to set up a user account, where you can then comment on articles, leave reviews and create your own lists, called “my suitcases”. Here’s one that I created: http://www.10best.com/Suitcases/14385/Spence|s_10best_Restaurants_in_Greenville/suitcase.html. Thanks again for visiting our site.
    -Spencer

Leave a Reply

