Not as green as I think I am??

Look, I really do try to live green….I carry reusable bags for groceries. I recycle the plastic bags if I forget. I’m getting a tankless water heater…trying, anyway. I drive a hybrid, and I hypermile. I recycle all my newspaper, magazines and catalogues….all plastics and glass. Come on….I’m pretty darn green, OK? But here’s the thing.

An outraged Lisa Robinson.....or maybe just surprised....

An outraged Lisa Robinson.....or maybe just surprised....

I like to keep a plant on my desk, something pretty, just for looks. It pleases me. So, right before we had some company bosses come in, ( and you wanted your work area to look nice for company, right….judging, judging)  I bought a pretty calla lily with the loveliest orange/brown blooms. Very nice. And it stayed nice for about a month. But in spite of watering it, soon it a very sad little plant. Sooooo, and I’m sorry to say this, but I put it in the trashcan. Along comes 11 News I-Team’s Lisa Robinson, who plucks it from the garbage, offended, and says, “You are the green queen, and you just throw this living thing away? Just throw it away?” I respond…weakly, “Well, it looks horrible,……what else am I supposed to do with it ?” She suggested taking it home and trying to nurse it back to health. I wasn’t up to that, but Lisa was. So while she’s not a big recycler…yet…I’m working on her….she is recycling my calla lily. So, I owe her. And at least Lisa’s not investigating me…..are you?

3 Responses

  1. I love this picture! Nice blog by the way!

  2. Donna and all who read the blog. I have a garden…I have a green thumb…I recycle…to the best of my abilities. Donna inspired me. So, at home I am the one collecting the bottles cans and paper and it’s me who drags it all to the curb in my pj’s sneaking around bushes early in the morning hoping nobody sees me. Thank you Green Queen. We will bring that plant back to life. And yes I am investigating you. Love you too. Lisa

  3. I feel your pain. I follow the same credo; reduce, re-use, recycle as much as possible, but it can become an obsession. And one begins to feel judged when we don’t do the right thing EVERY time. Good for Lisa to ‘have your back’ on this one, but you do get creds for 98% effort.

Leave a Reply

