I was right…it is…all about the hair.

See it? See the hair? Love the hair...be the hair!!

See it? See the hair? Love the hair...be the hair!!

Again with the hair!! You may find this hard to believe…I did…and then again , I didn’t….but our website here at WBAL TV….has had 67-thousand hits on our “hair then and now” post. The one with Jayne Miller and curly locks….me in much shorter hair, oh the hairdos, the hairdos, the hairdos-dos-dos-dos! It’s still on the front page, getting more hits. (And my hair is different still from my most recent photo).

 

 

If we had all the money we have collectively spent on color, cuts, glossing creams, shampoo and conditioner, stylists, mousse, straightening cream, silicone gels, flatirons, hairdryers(now one knows but the hairdryer graveyard)….and just gooey stuff to make you hair look better, we could all take a trip to the Carribbean….a really nice trip.

You may be thinking wow, how shallow is that…all that attention on hair. And yes, you are correct,  at first glance seems to be …a vanity issue. And I suppose it is, but Corbin (who you saw doing Deborah Weiner’s hair, and whom I have also known for over 20 years) put it this way. Or something like this. “It’s all about the framing. You look at someone on television, and you have to like the silhouette, the look,….because if you don’t, chances are you might just use the clicker.” Horrors. We definitely do not want that. And many viewers are not shy at all about sharing their opinions of how our hair looks. Yeah.  Soooooooo, we worry with our hair, and curl it and color it and straighten it and gloss it. But really, we’re not so different from anyone else….not at all. Most women (and many many men)spend a great deal of time and $$$$ on their locks. Hair ain’t called “the crowning glory” for nothing. But still….67-thousand hits. Really?

One Response

  1. I’ve heard that many a news anchor has complained about this.. As much as you’d like to say “no, it’s all about someone’s skills”… sadly, hair/looks are a factor as well. I remember when Robin Roberts talked about her chemotherapy, and her hair loss, is that the reason she decided to wear a wig on air is because she did not want to “distract from the story”. It’s unfortunately something that you all, as on air personalities, have to take.. good with the bad!

    One question, though.. I’ve also heard that in some news anchor contracts, there is sometimes a clause that you aren’t allowed to make any changes to your appearance without prior approval of the bosses. Is that still true?

    One of the on air stories you did many years ago I still remember quite well…. when you went through your own hair makeover!

    I have a degree in meteorology, and had spoken to a (ahem) well known stylist in Beverly Hills… and he had surprisingly suggested to me to become a TV forecaster. I was shocked at the suggestion. The reason why I was shocked was because I’m aware of the “looks requirement” for on air personalities. And I don’t fit that category at all! I have to admit that I am very grateful that I don’t have to fuss at my looks every day. I can wear sweats to work, if I want. No makeup, and sloppy hair days if need be (don’t tell Jose that… 😉 ). That’s one thing I don’t envy you for!

Leave a Reply

