I’m a Lip Balm Addict….so what?

right before I go to sleep....

right before I go to sleep....

It’s the last thing I do at night…reach for my little tin of Burt’s Bees. So soothing, knowing my lips won’t get chapped overnight. Hey, I’ve long known I’m a Lip Balm Addict…that I’m powerless over lip balm…though I haven’t always thought of it those terms. And yes, it’s true, I turned both of my kids into LBA’s as well. When they were just little tykes I was always slathering chapstick or more likely, Burt’s Bees’ balm on their little lips. I slip tubes of Kiehl’s lip balm into their Christmas stockings….and I will tell you, that seeing someone with chapped, cracked lips…just about sends me over the edge. It’s all I can do, to resist the urge to grab some lip balm from my well stocked…ok, over-stocked bag of balms, glosses and lipsticks, and slather something on them. I cannot stand looking at chapped lips.

The lovely Jennifer, my son’s fiancee, accuses me turning him into a a lip balm addict…there’s no defense really , I know it’s true.

OK, from one addict to another….what’s your favorite lip balm? My longtime fav has been Burt’s Bees Beeswax Balm. That sweet little yellow tin that when twisted open, releases its sweet, pepperminty, beeswaxy smell. Goes on smooth, not too shiny…men like it too. Love the beeswax, be the beeswax!! Very comforting.

Alternate way to get my fix...

Alternate way to get my fix...

I have also found another fix in Lip Cream from DHC, with olive oil and vitamin e. It’s the little pink tube…a little shine, but not too glossy. (DHC also makes the wonderful Skin Velvet Coat, their under makeup product that several of us here at TV-11 adore…). I have used and loved Carmex, though it’s a little too medicinal for me….and MAC also makes a very nice lip conditioner, shinier, and you can get it colors. 

For those of you who are also LBAs, and want to kick the habit, there is a place for you to get help. Lip Balm Anonymous. There you can find others like yourself, and those who can say that they no longer have tubes and tins of balm floating around their cars, pockets and houses. I am not among them. For now, especially now in anxious times, I’m keeping the lip balm monkey on my back.

2 Responses

  1. I am such a LBA! Every night before I fall asleep, the last thing I do is slather my lips with Carmex. I, like you, can not stand chapped lips on myself or anyone else. My 4 year old son carries around his Finding Nemo Chap Stick wherever he goes.

  2. Total LBA!!! I have two on my desk at work (CO Bigelow Vitamin Mentha Glacial Mint Tinted Lip Balm from Bath and Body Works, Burt’s Bees Replenishing Lip Balm with Pomegranate Oil), MAC Take a Hint Tendertone Lip Balm in my purse, and good ol’ Chapstick Lip Moisturizer (2 of them actually) in the master bath, which I put on before bedtime. If I’m not wearing lipstick or lip gloss, I’m wearing some form of balm – can’t stand the feel of naked lips and I’ve been this way since high school. I’ve done well at not perpetuating the same habit in my 2 year old daughter, but I suppose it’s only a matter of time…

Leave a Reply

