Report from the voting booth….

 

My voting essentials!!

My voting essentials!!

 

Like many other Americans, I plan election day, and especially this year. With the predictions of record voter turnout, long lines and beaucoup scads of people hitting the voting booth, many for the first time ever…. I got up early this morning and gathered my voting essentials. That means coffee♥in a go cup,  hair up in a ponytail,  my ipod, the newspaper….and thus equipped… trekked off to my polling place. Hmmmmm, other people obviously had the same idea.  The line stretched out of the elementary school down the block and around the corner. To the end of the line I go.

Now thats a line....

Now that's a line....

An hour and a half later…I’m voting. And I have to say…everyone was very patient. There was no grumbling, no grousing, it was a happy atmosphere. Every once in a while, an obvious newbie would come through the door….the woman in charge there would ask if they were indeed a first timer… if the answer was yes, she announced it to the room…applause usually followed. Quite a few kids there with parents…I remember bringing mine with me when they were little…and I guess it took. My daughter (in school in Virginia) got up at 5 this morning (and that’s not like her)…so that she could vote when their polls opened at 6 …took her about 45 minutes in line. My son in NY, and the lovely Jennifer, voted in the west village at the little school right next to their apartment. They had a short wait, because if you knew your precinct(and they did), you could go straight to that line…so they were in and out.

And let me just say this…no matter who wins or who loses…and someone will…there will be great happiness and plenty of disappointment to go around tonight, or tomorrow morning if it’s very close. But no matter who emerges as the winner, the same task remains before us all. That Americans have to get together and do what needs to be done to get the economy and the country back on track. A daunting task for a new president. A daunting task for citizens. But I’m ready to get started, aren’t you?

Trish wrote…”I have to admit, I was a little nervous about a long line after hearing horror stories on the news. My husband drove past our polling place around 10:30 am and said the parking lot was overflowing and the line was down the block. At that point, panic set in. Would I still be in line at midnight waiting to vote after getting off of work? Around 1:45 pm I needed to run to the bank, so I figured while I was out, I would give it a try. I drove to my polling place, got a parking place right out front, went inside, had my choice of election judges to register with, cast my ballot and was out of there all under 10 minutes! I definitely picked the right time to go. Like you said, Donna, I’m ready to do what needs to be done!”

3 Responses

  1. I have to admit, I was a little nervous about a long line after hearing horror stories on the news. My husband drove past our polling place around 10:30 am and said the parking lot was overflowing and the line was down the block. At that point, panic set in. Would I still be in line at midnight waiting to vote after getting off of work? Around 1:45 pm I needed to run to the bank, so I figured while I was out, I would give it a try. I drove to my polling place, got a parking place right out front, went inside, had my choice of election judges to register with, cast my ballot and was out of there all under 10 minutes! I definitely picked the right time to go. Like you said, Donna, I’m ready to do what needs to be done!

  2. I voted at Pinewood Elementary in the county, was in and out. It was my first time voting and was proud to do so.

    I am a little ticked at WBAL, because they havent resumed the NBC News HD Feed. I found my self flipping to other stations briefly but still return to WBAL or MSNBC.

    Speaking of HD… 😉

  3. I worked as an election judge in Northern Baltimore County, out in the sticks. We had people waiting to vote at 6 am. The first 2 hours were very steady, but the maximum wait times were 20 minutes. Everyone was very polite, but I think a lot of that was the old everyone-seems-to-know-everyone kind of atmosphere.

    The one moment that will stick in my mind was a young man who was voting for the first time in his life and I was touched at how proud he was, and his family was, after he voted. I’m very adamant for voting and it was refreshing to see a family treating it as a proud tradition.

    Thanks to everyone who voted yesterday, no matter who or what you voted for. Many people have died for your right to vote and many people around the world give their lives trying to vote!

Leave a Reply

