Captain Underpants and the Angry Angel!!

Nooooo...I dont like this costume!!!!!

"Nooooo...I don't like this costume!!!!!"

I’ll be honest, I don’t much blame this little boy on The Today Show, for being thoroughly disturbed that he was… not only in his Dad’s tightie-whities….not only was he in public…now he had to go on national tv! Maybe when the idea was first presented it sounded like fun, but no doubt, the reality of what would have to lived down his entire life, hit with the clarity of a ton of bricks when it time for his grand appearance. The dad made him go on…I guess that’s ok(?), but it felt just a little mean to make this kid stand there, clearly unhappy about the whole thing…just ’cause dad said they would for a show segment.

And really, what is the Today Show’s fixation on Halloween?  Is it just me ,or do they spend WAY TOO MUCH TIME ON THEIR COSTUMES AND SHOWING THEM OFF?? Right before a national election, I just found it a little annoying today, that we had to sit though this interminable setup fairy tale. Sure, the costumes are fetching….hey, mine would be too if I had  professional costume designer. How hard is that?  I know, I know, they do this every year, and surely some people really enjoy it, but this morning I found myself fingering the remote.  Ok, I feel better now.

But the little kid screaming thing reminded me of a “child changes mind on wearing costume” episode of my own. My daughter was about five and was in a church Christmas pageant. And pretty happy about it…she got to wear angel wings,  which we found at the Disney store…but that day was a hard day. There’s always one day from hell right before Christmas. Sorry about the hell-Christmas in the same sentence thing, but it is the only term that applies here.You know that day….. there are two open houses to attend, there’s holiday concert at one child’s school, and oh yeah, your most temperamental child is in a church pageant that night when they are done. Just done. Parents know what I’m talking about. So she has a little nap first, wakes up totally cranky, and now Mommy(me)-dearest, says brightly with a big smile, “Now it’s time to go be an angel !!”

My baby girl is the one the middle with the snarky look...

My baby girl is the one the middle with the snarky look...

Noooooooooo, I don’t want tooooooo“, is screamed in your face. In all honesty, I donwanna either. But this angel is scheduled to appear. But I made what I think was the right decision. I told her that we were going to church, but if she didn’t want to be an angel, she didn’t have to….banking on the idea that when we got there and saw all the other angels, there would be no way on this earth she wasn’t putting on those wings!! And I lucked out. She did angel up….but as you can see in the picture, she’s , oh, let’s say an angel with an attitude, ok? She didn’t scream (oh, she could have, she has it in her)….just put a little snarky look on her face to show me I didn’t hold all the cards. Take that Mommy.

Melissa Carlson and her new baby boy Liam!!

Melissa Carlson and her new baby boy Liam!!

And look who just showed up at work this morning, pirate-baby in arms…..the lovely Melissa Carlson (how does she look like that after just having a baby-no fair!), and her brand new son Liam….who had to don his pirate costume after pooping through his first choice of Superman….hey, **it happens. We miss you Melissa…

Happy Halloween everyone….and remember candy at my house is limited, so don’t too many of you show up!

6 Responses

  1. Hi Donna,

    I love your blog! Have a random ? for you… do local tv anchors buy their own clothes to wear on TV or do you have a wardrobe? Also, can you wear the same outfit twice and how do you remember what you wear?

    Happy Halloween!

    Thanks,
    Elizabeth

  2. Elizabeth, we have a fabulous wardrobe mistress who brings in fabulous clothes for us to choose from…oh wait…no. That’s another Donna in a parallell universe! JK. We do our own clothing, bought by us. And if I couldn’t wear things again, I would soon be…welll….unclothed, but I think we all work at keeping things looking a little different with accessories and stuff…and I don’t know how remember when I wore something, I just do. I may not know exactly when I wore something, but I know if I wore it this week or last.

  3. […] blog has had the most views? This one may surprise you . For a few months,  it was Captain Underpants and the Angry Angel….a post I wrote last Halloween about the little boy who went bonkers on the Today Show, when […]

  4. Good posting

  5. I wish you guys would have kept Melissa Carlson. My wife and I sure miss her.

    Bob

  6. We all loved Melissa too Bob…but it was her husband’s job and family that took her back out west…totally her decision, and she is very happy there!

Leave a Reply

