What the heck is that on my eyeball??

Argh!! Bloody spot on eyeball!!

Argh!! Bloody spot on eyeball!!

OK, I get up this morning, go through my usual routine….coffee, Today Show,  newspaper, exercise, cereal, blah, blah, blah, and finally I look a little closer in the mirror as it is time to do hair …and…what…is…that..BLOODYSPOTON MY EYEBALL???? I consider calling my eye doctor, but it’s early, they probably aren’t in, and really, I would never have know it was there except that I saw it. Doesn’t itch. Doesn’t hurt. I haven’t scratched my eye or anything. Surely it’s nothing. Isn’t it? Isn’t it? What if it’s serious? What if I become one of those people  who after surviving some catastrophic thing like a heart attack or stroke, say…”Oh, I just felt embarrassed calling the doctor, I figured it was nothing.” You always want to say….what were you thinking??
But… I didn’t do anything until I got into the office and rather than call my doctor, I go to Dr. Internet….and found out I was right (probably). I have what’s called a subconjunctival hemorrhage. Sounds just awful doesn’t it? But that’s a big word for a blood vessel break under the thin membrane covering the eye (the conjunctiva..thus sub). It stays bright red because it gets so much oxygen. And newborn babies get them a lot….but for most people, it just happens from rubbing your eye, sneezing or coughing, maybe lifting something heavy (like my cat?).
They can also be caused my uncontrolled high blood pressure(mine is low, actually), or if you’re taking a blood thinner like Coumadin(which I’m not). So the Family Medicine Column says, relax girl. You’re fine. Your subconjunctival hemorrhage will go away in a week or 10 days.

6 Responses

  1. Yes it will go away in a week or 2 but don’t be surprised if it gets worse before it gets better. & you are right…there is no need to go to the doctor. I had a broken blood vessel before and I went to the eye doctor and basically wasted my time…she just gave me some eye drops if my eyes get dry…you can get those anywhere! So…great job Donna not wasting your time going to the eye doctor and doing your research. But like I said…don’t freak out if it gets worse before it gets better. I know mine did! Have a good day!

  2. Doesn’t that just completely freak you out? One morning I sneezed when I stepped out of the shower, and when I looked in the bathroom mirror I had this big broken blood vessel in my left eye. I looked like I had been in a car accident or something. I decided to read the pamphlet for the only medication I was using (a nasal spray, Nasarel, for my allergies), and the pamphlet said it could cause a weakening of the blood vessels in the eye. I stopped using it immediately, and switched to flonase.

  3. Hi i am 22 years old and in got me very scared. Whats going on what is it that really happens i just has a really bad head ace and thats all. so why does this really happen to up and whats really happening.

  4. Hey I kind of have the same problem but mine is worse because its not red its actually yellow, its under my eyelid and If I look to the right it shows and its pretty big, I’m very embarrassed by this and it’s been there for a very long time, a year or more and it keeps getting bigger. If i touch it I can move it around but its on the top layer of the skin on my eye, I’m thinking of going to the doctor to get surgery to remove it if it’s possible but I don’t know what it is, My mom has the same thing except hers is huge and she said it used to be small and got bigger, this scares me alot. I probably got jinxed because I have green eyes and people always tell me I have pretty eyes and now they jinxed me 😦 Ugh I sure do hope I can get surgery to remove it…please help if you have any suggestions. It’s very depressing. I wear sunglasses all the time now.

  5. green eyes specially those deep green ones are very unique and very attractive. i really love those -“‘

  6. Woke up this morning with the same thing only it felt like their was an eye lash in my eye… So I went to the bath room only to find that it’s this big red smudge the size if a thumb tack! I have no idea how it got there.. Well I guess I have been sneezing alot but WOW! I didn’t think it was hard enough to blow a vein (O-o)

Leave a Reply

