Laundry redux….

I’m not the only one with conflicted feelings about hanging wash versus using the dryer….this from Trish…

While I have great memories of running through the sheets with my friends in the backyard after my mother had hung them out to dry, I have no desire to recreate this experience for my son’s enjoyment. (Come to think of it, I don’t think today’s kids would find much enjoyment in running through wet sheets hanging on a clothes line!) Besides, it never failed that when I would hang something on the clothes line, the birds would make it their own personal bathroom! And the item would have to be rewashed. I’m with you, Donna…the dryer stays!”

Brian proves laundry  isn’t just for the girls….

About a month ago Donna, I just put a brand new clothes line up for my mother. Her old one, after 30 yrs, finally collapsed one day. Mom has a Dryer, but still loves to hang her clothes up, when she can. I too can remember times of hanging clothes up as a youth. I was one of four boys ( no girls in the fam. ) that had to help with that task. I asked my wife if she wanted me to put a clothes line up for her. She said Quote ” Don’t you Dare ” unquote. She too had that wonderful experience. We have a small line outside she uses for some things, but for the most part we love the Dryer.”

Nicole lives in a neighborhood that fancies itself not a hanging laundry kind of place…..I get it.

My Mom has 2 wash lines in her back yard, and still dries the laundry that way. However, my HOA won’t allow for any laundry drying outside AT ALL.”

This from Tara….

I grew up hanging laundry on the line. Can’t say I miss folding frozen sheets and finding a little friend (spider) in bed with me at night after the sheets had been on the line. However, my Mom was still hanging out clothes at the age of 82 !!”

Tracy…sowbugs????

From my childhood in Texas, I remember 1/2 of our backyard ended up devoted to hanging clothes out to dry with the 2 posts and 2 lines strung between them. My mother would hang the laundry out there during the summer until we got an infestation of sowbugs (what my dad called them) one year. It was mating time for them and they covered our clothes. We ended up washing them all again and drying them in the dryer (it was for winter use at that time). The poles came down soon after that.”

And Monica, such a romantic….

There is nothing in the world like the smell of clothes dried outdoors. However when I was a young mother I had my husband make sure that I had clotheslines in our back yard. He poured 50lbs of cement to hold the posts for the lines. Worked his butt off.
After hanging out diapers, towels, sheets, clothes, etc outdoors on bitter cold days I decided a clothes dryer would be a blessing. And I was right
.”

Ummmm, I gotta go throw in a dry sheet.

4 Responses

  1. Hanging laundry is one of my favorite, most peaceful things to do!!!! My mom always hung our laundry up outside when we were growing up & it is one of my fondest memories of childhood. We (my husband & 2 teenage daughters & myself) love the smell of fresh smelling sheets, towels, clothes!!! The whites are whiter, & I love that I’m not paying the electric company that extra money to run the dryer.

  2. I understand why my HOA doesn’t allow for laundry outside… none of us has back yards at all, and very very tiny front yards. So, it makes hanging laundry very visible. BUT, it’s also a shame. Everyone is correct by saying that line drying is the best thing to do with respect to the environment. There are times I wish I could.

  3. Yep, sowbugs….haven’t seen them since leaving Texas and who knows what the heck they really are….bugs about 1/4 to 1/2 inch long with 2 long sections to their body and wings. And when I say “covered our clothes”, that means completely covered with the darned things. So, you can imagine my mental connection to hanging the laundry out is now!

    I just put our wet clothes on our 2-year-old and let him run wild like he usually does! They’re dry in no time! Hmmmm….if I could channel some of his energy into the dryer, we’d never have to pay BGE!

  4. I have a large covered porch in the rear of my house. Once, when my dryer was broken, I strung a line under the roof. Now I am stuck on line-drying. I love the smell and hang my sheets, towels and clothes outside in all but the most miserable weather. More work, but smells so much bettter than the dryer! and cheaper!

Leave a Reply

