Bald Head Reaction….and a ray of hope for C-mart??

I had some sweet, moving reactions over the weekend to my blog about Clare, a longtime friend whose head I recently shaved during her cancer treatment….I know she will enjoy your words of encouragement. Isn’t it strange but wonderful how we can reach out to people we don’t know and will probably never meet, to share a moment of kindness and meaning? I love it. I just love it.

This from Trish:

What a beautiful blog which screams out loud of a fantastic friendship. Yay to both you and Claire!”

And from Travis:

I just had to say…thanks for making me cry! It’s so rare that you find friendships strong enough to last through such tough times. My best friend’s son was diagnosed with Leukemia at age 6. He underwent chemo treatments, too, and lost his hair. One night, while taking a bath, his mother walked in and noticed his hair was falling out in the bath water. She turned as she started to tear up, but he looked at her and said “Don’t cry, mom, it’s okay”. The next day, her husband and two other sons all shaved their heads, so they could match their brother. Having witnessed the effects of cancer throughout my family and friends, it is people like you, Donna, who are remembered most for their friendship during those times. “

From Nicole: “Very very good of you to support your friend, Donna! Clare was taking back her power over the situation. See Robin Roberts’ (ABC) story about her fight with breast cancer. She did very much the same thing, and had decided to shave her head after the chemo started affecting her.

As a woman in this society, being bald is such a tough thing. I actually chose the experience for a while… On April 23, 2005 I participated in a Baltimore “St. Baldricks” event. I had my head shaved as part of a fundraiser for children’s cancer research. I was one of the few women (only about 10% of the ’shavees’ that sign up are women) who decided to go through with this. I learned a lot about myself. It was very empowering. I decided, as an experiment, to keep the look for 6 months. I never wore a wig. There was only 1 or 2 situations that I opted for a hat, but that was because I was personally approaching people I wasn’t sure how they would react. Otherwise, in public, my bald head was shining in the sun. I had a woman stop me in the Mall in Columbia and say “do you know how beautiful you are?” I was shocked. Come to find out her daughter was a cancer survivor. Of course I explained that I wasn’t a cancer patient, but that I had started this process as a support for children’s cancer research……..

Only funny side effect is that once I had grown my hair out, I actually went to the Jose Eber salon in Beverly Hills. Decided to shock Jose himself with a picture from those bald days. The reaction was priceless. -)

Tell Clare that it’s ok to be in public as she doesn’t have to be ashamed or embarrassed about the bald head. She’s ok as she is. She doesn’t have to hide. Just focus on her day to to day tasks, and don’t think about the fact that she’s bald. If she’s comfortable within herself, people will be more comfortable, too.

From Susan: “Donna & Clare, what a tribute to a wonderful lasting friendship. Claire I wish you success in your battle with this dreaded disease.”

And last,  a  ray of hope from Doug Carton, the founder of C-Mart??

” As the founder and former co-owner of C-Mart, I am as sad as anyone to see C-Mart close, it’s almost as if one of my children was leaving forever. The old C-Mart building in Forest Hill still belongs to my family, and you should never say never. Maybe one day down the road, C-Mart will rise like a Phoenix from the dead. Right now, it looks like a very slim chance, but I can’t imagine Maryland without a C-mart.”

Me either Doug, me either…..

 

 

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

