Blueberry solutions and blueberry temptations….

Dear Readers, I have heard from a few people about how to get around the blueberry crunch..no, that’s not a cereal. I mean the crunch in prices for those of us who love fresh blueberries daily, but would like to indulge without going broke once blueberries are out of season…Here are a couple of interesting replies, one that is worth trying to save some $$$$, and the other may have you headed straight to your kitchen…or your treadmill…and maybe both!    

 

 

From Kit:

My husband gets the large tubs of plain yogurt (vanilla yogurt has DOUBLE the calories) and mixes dried blueberries with it…that way, when he wants to have his Special K with yogurt, the blueberries are ready to roll.”

And Kit makes a really good point…flavored yogurts, even non-fat ones are often chockablock with sugar calories….read the label friend, and if you’re watching calories, flavor it yourself. And wow..wait ’til you get a load of the next reply…it really surprised me…obviously from someone who is NOT calorie counting…Andrea in Denver…

I enjoyed reading about your blueberry woes. In the last 6 months, I have become nuts over fresh blueberries. I started eating them with granola cereal topped with walnuts and honey (all submerged in half-n-half). But, this wasn’t good enough. I then started topping vanilla ice cream with them. Three scoops of vanilla ice cream in a bowl covered first with roasted pecans (lightly buttered and salted-roasting them gives them a great caramely flavor and crunch), then drizzled with butterscotch syrup (not too much-some cheap brand is OK), then buried in real whipped cream (the richest, creamiest canned version I can find – the caloric content on the label will tell you which is the richest) and finally topped with about a 1/2 pint of fresh blueberries. The combination is pure heaven. I obsess about my blueberry sundaes and fret over the rising cost of blueberries and their availability during off season. I’m sure you’re wondering, but no, I’m not overweight (yet!). Some days, this is all I eat. I have a supply of blueberries and sundae fixins for tonight – yippee. The Sunflower Market seems to be my best choice for blueberries lately (quality vs. price). I’m paying $3.49 for a 6 oz container. Of course, I need to open, touch and pick through and sample from at least 20 containers before I find a few that meet my standards for firmness and sweetness. For this steep price, I’m not going home with a bunch of mushy or sour berries. Well, I may have gone too far in letting you all into my weird little world of blueberries. Hang in there fellow blueberry nuts. We have a long winter ahead.”

Andrea, Denver Colorado

Dear Andrea, I must admit that as I read your entry(which sounds decadently fabulous), I was indeed worried about your waistline, you got me when you buried your granola in half-and half….but if you say it’s no problem….then I guess it’s no problem. And while I don’t shop at the Sunflower Market since I don’t  live in Denver… for Pete’s sake, stop opening containers of blueberries and handling them all!! Yikes! But your concoction just might make a fabulous dessert. Ever use it for that?  

 

Half and half...and its fat free!

Half and half...and it's fat free!

 One more thing, not that calories count in the previous recipe, but have any of you ever tried fat-free half and half? I use it in coffee and love it…just like the real thing. And thanks for sharing…
 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

2 Responses

  1. Okay, number one: Gross! Number two: can you say “vitamin deficiency?”

  2. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

