Walnuts Slow Cancer Growth??

 I love walnuts, let me just say that right up front.  I eat them every day on cereal, and occasionally sprinkle them on salads with goat cheese and apples…fabulous.

And I love the fact that they’re healthy…..rich in fiber, b vitamins, magnesium, plant sterols, and Omega-3 fatty acids.  Here’s what the FDA finally said about them….

Supportive but not conclusive research shows that eating 1.5 oz of walnuts per day, as part of a low saturated fat and low cholesterol diet, and not resulting in increased caloric intake may reduce the risk of coronary heart disease.”

 How about that? And now a new study from Marshall University that was published in Nutrition and Cancer, says wait, there’s more! They took mice with breast cancer, and fed one group a diet in which 18.5 % of the calories , the equivalent of two servings for humans, came from walnuts. The other nice ate a more typical American diet(not sure what that consisted of…pizza and burgers, maybe?). Anyway the tumors in the  walnut-fed group took twice as long to double in size  as those in the control group. They say more research needs to be done….but my thought is, I like, walnuts, why not eat them every day?  Oh and here’s an idea I saw on one website that I had never thought of…..sprinkle walnuts on pizza instead of say, pepperoni. You know, it might be good…especially on a pesto, fresh mozzarella pizza….yum. Or, here’s a recipe for Grilled Pizza with Pears, Pecorina and Walnuts…..from Bon Appetit. What’s not to like?

And I found a good place to gets walnuts for less, if you have some room in the freezer to store them….believe it or not, at Amazon Grocery! I ordered some a couple months ago, after the prices had gone through the roof (or so it seemed) at the regular supermarket, and they were fresh and wonderful.  Here you’re getting 6 pounds of walnuts for just a little over 6 bucks a pound…check the per pound price at the store? Let me save you the time…it’s about $12 a pound. So just store the rest in the frig or freezer, and that’s where you should keep nuts anyway, to preserve their freshness….and use as needed….and from the above article…eat a couple of handfuls a day…in place of that unhealthy snack you used to have!

One Response

  1. I will have to eat some more walnuts then. I do eat nuts everyday. They help me curb my cravings for salty foods. I am a young breast cancer survivor. I need all the help I can get!

    This is the first time I have checked out your blog. I am enjoying looking around!

    Blogity blog blog blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

