Going to the movies by yourself….

Let’s face it…going to a movie is not a solitary pastime…not really. I mean, you certainly can go to a movie by yourself, and you don’t need someone to talk to during the film…indeed, one should not be talking at all during the movie except to whisper, “I’m going to the snack bar…want something?” But it is, still, something we do as a group activity…or at least two people. This weekend,  I did it! I went for the first time in my life, to a movie… alone. My significant other was in ‘bama visiting his Dad…something we both try to do with each of our aging parents every few months or so…just drop in for a weekend….and no friends were available to go to the movies with me. Sniff.   

Holy cow, thats high....

Holy cow, that's high....

And I’ve been dying to see Man on a Wire at the Charles Theatre…which is nearing the end of it’s run. It’s a documentary (yes, I know the D word), about Phillipe Petit….a French cosmopolite (oooh, good crossword word…someone who drinks cosmos? someone who is polite? a combination?) and wire walker who successfully walked a wire between the two World Trade Towers in 1974….for a couple of hours! The preparations they had to go through to make the unbelievably dangerous and surreptitious crossing is just fascinating. And the film also serves as a lovely elegy to the Twin Towers. Now that they no longer exist, except in our memory, and in pictures and films, it is amazing to see them in all of their magnificent hugeness, and still hard to believe something so immense could just…..cease to exist. But in this film, they serve as the greatest challenge and accomplishment of one man’s life…Phillipe was obsessed  with the towers before they were even finished. If you don’t catch it at The Charles, Netflix it….you won’t be sorry.

ham and gruyere with dijon....whats no to like?

ham and gruyere with dijon....what's no to like?

But back to my lone existence at the movie….there weren’t that many people as anxious to see this film as I was…maybe 10 of us at noon on Sunday?  I bought a lovely warm ham, Gruyere, and Dijon crepe at Sofi’s Crepes next door…very comforting…and managed to drip it all over myself  during the film which I had no idea about until I stepped into the sunshine, chatting with some people I knew there. Still..delicious. And I felt….a bit different, but not awful. Now I know, there are plenty of you who may go to films alone quite often, and wonder why I’m even remarking on it.  I get that. It’s just that, it was a first for me. And it wasn’t bad…I could do it again, and maybe I will. I didn’t feel weird, or odd…it was ….fine. I long ago got over eating alone in restaurants, the product of traveling for work, and sometimes you feel like something other than room service. That is without doubt more difficult, as you don’t have a movie to watch..thus the book that many lone diners often take along.

No swimming? No problem.

No swimming? No problem.

And Saturday, we were all waiting for the big storm that never happend…at least not for Baltimore….this was what the Gwynn’s Falls looked like the day after….pretty angry. No swimmers that day….

One Response

  1. I’ve lived single all of my life, so I’m very used to going places by myself. In fact, I travel on my own very consistently. One time, my mother said to me “we’re [both of my parents] are so proud of you because you’re so brave that way.” I looked at Mom quizzically and asked whether she would have said the same thing if I was male. She had to admit I was right for pointing out the double standard. There are so many advantages to going out on your own… you can do what you want to do when you want to do it. You get used to it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

