Hanna’s coming over…want to join us for chicken and dumplings?

Simple, delish chicken and dumplings!

Simple, delishchicken and dumplings!

Sure, it may be a little muggy this weekend for good ole Southern chicken an dumplings, but for a simple comfort dish when a big storm named Hanna is headed in for Saturday night dinner….you can’t beat it. And if you’ve never had homemade C&D, you ain’t had the full experience. My Grandmother Clifford….yes, Clifford, used to make them quite often, and passed the tradition on to my Mom, who passed it on to me and my sisters. And really, the recipe couldn’t be simpler. And there are a couple of variations to make it even shorter.

First, you take a whole chicken and poach it in just enough water to cover, in a Dutch Oven or big stew pot with salt and pepper to taste. When the chicken is done, in about an hour or so, remove the chicken from the chicken broth (you just made broth!)…no onion or  carrots or celery or other frippery…though I suppose you could add some…but then you wouldn’t be making my recipe, would you?  As the chicken cools, make your dumplings.

Easiest variation: Buy a can of biscuits, roll in flour and snip each biscuit into the gently simmering broth, about three to a biscuit.

Next easiest (and better) variation:Get biscuit mix…like Bisquick…and stir up a batch. Roll out the dough on a floured board or counter and cut it into strips. Let the strips cure for a half hour or so…don’t shake the flour off..drop into broth.

Hardest variation (and the one I never do): Make biscuit dough from scratch, then as variation 2 above.

Now they will look a little funny as they cook, and for Pete’s sake don’t stir them a lot…just occasionally push them under the surface of the broth. For more tips and better pictures  of what to expect, go to Southern Plate….They have a lot of pictures and do some things I don’t do, like adding cream of chicken soup, thought I may try it. If, at the end your C&D are too soupy, you may need to make a little roux of flour and butter and stir it in, but the flour on the dumplings usually take care of this problem. One more tip. I did everything as asked on my first dumpling outing, and they just weren’t quite right, so I called my Mom. She said, “Add a little sugar.” So, I did, and she was right, which I’ve learned it’s an ingredient that can make quite a few dishes perfect, just a smidge of sugar.

I hope your basement and mine stay dry this weekend, and your gutters and mine don’t clog….and Sunday brings some much needed sunshine, to all of us. Have a great weekend, be nice and come home safe….’cause we miss you.

6 Responses

  1. Mmm that sounds good. I learned a similar reciepe from my Grandma too except the dumplings were floated on top of the simmering liquid and cooked with the lid on to steam them and they finished up like airy clouds. We also made them with sauerbratten.

  2. This is too funny! I was just talking to my husband and he suggested that I make chicken and dumplings tomorrow! I use Paula Deen’s recipe since most of my family is either Canadian or from Boston, but I tweek it just enough to where I can call it my own. You can’t beat it as far as comfort food goes. It will also help my husband and son since they are fighting allergy season at the moment.

  3. This is eerie because my husband just called to ask me if I could make chicken and dumplings tomorrow. I use Paula Deen’s recipe as a starting point and then tweek it enough to call it my own. You can’t beat comfort food on a rainy day.

  4. Paul, I need to clarify then because these too float on top of the broth…maybe it’s just me that pushes then down…you probably don’t need to. And Rachel, I shall think of you tomorrow night as we all enjoy some comfort food in the presence of Hanna. I suspect iin Boston chicken and dumplings, the dumplings would be beans!

  5. Donna, I know that there are two distinct types of dumplings in this genre. The “slippery” type as they are sometimes called, especially in Amish reciepes, and the steamed type that I described which is mostly found in traditional German reciepes. My Grandma was very german so Im sure that’s where it came from. So don’t think that you’re doing something you shouldn’t. Enjoy! I’ll be working during the storm but maybey i’ll make some C&Ds here.

  6. Hey! I just wanted to thank you for the link! You have a great blog!
    ~Christy

Leave a Reply

