A Really Bad Night’s Sleep……

too early!!I woke about 4 this morning. No, my alarm hadn’t gone off, and there was no need to get up early for something. I just…woke up… which seems to more and more be my sleep pattern. I hate it! I’ll be the first to admit I have always been pathological about my sleep. I need my sleep. I will get my sleep. Don’t get in my way. But now, in the wee hours of the morning, I as awake with my mind whirring about all sorts of ridiculous things. Last night I was thinking about this blog, for Pete’s sake. Come on!!

ummmmm...sleep musicI have impeccable sleep hygiene, before you ask. This does not mean that I’m clean, by the way. It does  mean, I go to bed at roughly the same time every night, get up about the same time every morning, don’t watch tv in bed, have a couple of nice little sleep cds I play….my favorite is actually on my ipod, in case I travel, called Sea of Bliss by Don Slepian.  I love it. And I’ve also been listening to Sea of Tranquility Volume II….it’s very chill. But going to sleep is not my problem. Going to sleep is a snap. Later is the problem.

You know how Matt Lauer is always going on about Ambien being his special friend? Well I have a friend too, two of them actually, but they have both deserted me. Benedryl. And Simply Sleepy. I alternate taking them in hopes of getting a really good night’s sleep, but right now….no. So last night I didn’t take either of them as they aren’t working anyway, and again…early morning staring at the clock and thinking. I know I’m not alone in this as sleeping pills are big, big business in this country, but I will not take an Ambien or other such pill. I’ve read too many awful/embarrassing things about what people do while on them and then have no memory of them. Driving at night, eating at night and zippo…no memory of it at all!! So, no thank you.

But here’s what does make my morning come alive….that’s right…coffee, which is finally getting the credit it deserves for being not just a good beverage, no…but in-a-good-way-life-altering one. I love you coffee.Full of antioxidants, and it increases your brain activity…seriously, that was on the Today Show this morning (they weren’t talking about Ambien). So I can forget that I really didn’t get as much shut eye as I wanted to last night. Or the night before. Or before that. Actually, during the day, I feel just fine, so maybe I don’t need as much sleep as I think I do. Whatever…I’m getting another cup of java.

7 Responses

  1. Well I think that going to sleep is a ritual, you lose control of everything around you until the next morning,and sometimes we like to be in control. I talked to people that always have dreams or somethings nightmares but I very seldom have any dreams, what I do every night I set my TV to turn off itself in 30 minutes in a channel that I don’t care much about it with a low volume just to enough to keep you company, close your eyes and don’t think about trying to sleep just rest… Ambien music gives the idea that you are suppose to go sleep but you probably memorize it already so your brain is following the music.

  2. Hmmmmm….not liking to lose control…that is an interesting idea. I really don’t need to the tv to sleep…I think that’s a guy thing. Seriously.

  3. Donna,
    in my late 50s I have been waking up more often
    the last few years. I too refuse to take likes of
    Ambien, but last year began taking RESQ SLEEP
    product that has all natural ingredients incl.
    melatonin and chamomile. website : http://www.n3inc.com
    for me, I still end up waking up a couple times each
    night, but taking few drops of RESQ Sleep makes
    me feel relaxed and get back to sleep much faster instead of tossing and turning for an hour or two.
    cheers, John

  4. Donna,
    From time to time I have the same sleep problems. I’ve determined it is caused by stress or from worrying about things going on, just can’t get the brain to shut down. It usually lasts a couple of days when I finally relax and realize things will work out and be OK. Good Luck and relax.

  5. Donna,
    Waking up at 4am very often sounds like one of the symptoms of menopause. That’s what I went through a while back. Have you considered that possibility, it’s worth checking into.
    Good luck.

  6. Oh, Bev, I know that is true….unfortunately there is not a darn thing I can do about that!!

  7. donna have you tried having white noise. i have a fan that blows on me and within 30 minutes [sometimes] i’m fast asleep. of course i get up at 3 in the morning so i’m in bed and asleep by 9 pm.

Leave a Reply

