Dangly sparkly earrings…..

pretty earrings!These are the earrings I’m wearing today, and you’ll see them on the 5 pm newscast tonight. Earrings such as these…sparkly, dangly, eye-catching earrings have the source of discussion at my house for some time now….as in should you or shouldn’t you. The person who takes exception to the wearing of such earrings maintains this belief: Thou shalt not wear distracting jewelry on the air.

Ok, that used to be true. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve sat through sessions with consultants paid to tell you what to wear, what not to wear, blah, blah….and I can say without exception they all espouse this theory. Too distracting. But here’s the thing…and I told this to the last person to talk about this..a couple of years ago. That is old-school, and the old rules no longer apply. She politely disagreed. ( she’s wrong, btw.)

Seriously, there was a time when the old rules held, but now, whether you like it or not, whether I like it or not….it is all about the look.  And if someone is looking at your earrings saying, “Ooooh, those are so pretty  and I wonder where she got them!”, what was bad is now good. Oh, what a topsy-tervy world we live in, oui? Oh…and I got the earrings at Nordstrom’s, I think.

6 Responses

  1. Just an FYI: I think you can wear just about anything and get away with it :-)I agree though, old school rules are being thrown out the window across the board.

  2. Love those earrings!!

  3. I find that I get very bored seeing drab, mundane clothing on news casters. I know some that wear basically the same suit in a different color each night and it doesn’t hold my attention. I wouldn’t go overboard but some display of personallity is very comforting to me because I feel like I have to trust who is telling me the news, and Donna I trust you. Thanks Paul

  4. Such a bunch of fashionistas…who knew? Bring on the sparkly earrings…

  5. Donna, First off..I think your great. I loved you on the Evening Magazine show… I think your earrings rock..(I can’t afford Nordstroms so I can find a knock off pair somewhere)I love your clothes and If I could afford it..I would get my hair cut like yours.
    I really missed seeing you on TV around Baltimore after your left. I was happy to see your return to WBAL. Glad your here and hope you stay..
    Michelle

  6. Oh thanks Michelle! And I’m so happy you like the earrings….and it’s funny, all the on air women here at ‘bal agree…you really can’t tell the dif between earrings that cost $15, and $150. Seriously….and these were not expensive. But I like them. And that comment… I hope you stay…do you know something that I don’t? Thanks for writing!

Leave a Reply

