The Power of Purple….

coverWent to see The Color Purple, Alice Walker’s Pulitzer Prize-winning novel first made into a movie starring Oprah Winfrey, and then into a Tony-winning play, which is now on national tour and here in Baltimore at the Hippodrome Theatre !! Let me just say this….I’m not a big musical fan. It’s sad, I know, I wish I was a better person, but there it is. Far too many musicals have me peeking discreetly at my watch, and when another song begins…have me sighing internally, “There they go singing again.” So it is with joy and pleasure..and yes gratitude…that I can say without any reservations at all…The Color Purple is fabulous. Simply fabulous. While the show is 3 hours, it never feels like 3 hours, not for a moment. You laugh out loud, and cry some(and I’m not a crier)…it is the only show I’ve ever attended where the cast standing onstage for their bows, brought me to tears.

And the music is rafter raising…with many of the Broadway performers reprising their roles, you are in no doubt that you’re seeing one of the finest ensembles ever assembled. It is just.. that… good. Purple is about family, love, overcoming terrible hardships…and it’s about joy….and you feel a great deal of it leaving the theatre. ‘Nuff said.

starsAnd two of the stars of Purple got up early (for them) this morning to do interviews….I really enjoyed meeting Angela Robinson who plays the very sexy Shug Avery, the woman every man cannot resist, and Rufus Bonds, who plays the role of Mister…who makes an incredible emotional journey in the play. They had some very interesting insights into their characters…and about life on the stage, part of which you’ll see tonight on 11 News at Five, but we will post the interviews in their entirety online, in case you’d like to see them.

But try to get to see this show…it’s an opportunity you won’t want to miss. I wish I could see it again….

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

