The Redneck Riviera

Yep, that’s where I’m headed today….leaving the fam and the cats behind(ok, cats are part of the fam)….getting on a  plane and flying to B’ham. There my little sis and I will throw our elderly Mother in a car(I mean with great effort and care,  get her and her wheelchair and all the stuff she needs), and head south to Gulf Shores…..L.A.(lower Alabama), the Redneck Riviera, baby!

This is our yearly jaunt that we started 5 or 6 years ago, that has now become a tradition. And some people wonder how a tradition gets started. Easy. You do it one year, and then just keep on keepin’ on… I look forward to this trip….my Mom loves it of course, and I love being with my sisters. Whenever I meet people who don’t get along with their sisters, or indeed barely speak and haven”t seen them in ages, I feel sad for what they’ve lost, and so fortunate for what I have. A close friendship that even when I haven’t seen them in six months, when we get together, it’s like I saw them yesterday. That’s very nice.

I think I wrote about this trip last April, about the chaos that ensues when it’s time to clean out the condo frig….who’s taking the butter? What about the leftover shrimp and grits? Who am I kidding…there won’t be leftover shrimp and grits.

And if you’ve never considered the Redneck Riviera for a holiday…think about it. Gorgeous beaches, good shopping, good eats, and great golf.  We’re staying in a different place this time…not overlooking the beach but a condo on the bay overlooking a marina. Since I found it, I hope everyone likes it…rented this time through homeaway.com. I’ll let you know how it is. In the meantime, I won’t be around a computer, but know I’m having a great time, and I hope all of you enjoy your weekend and some long overdue spring weather as well.

Who knows, maybe the sisters will get in a fight this time! Naw……R.R. here I come!!

5 Responses

  1. Donna,
    I guess we have taken your advice. Two of my sisters and I and our Mom are going ‘down the ocean’ next month (for Mother’s Day). We hope to make it a ‘tradition’ like you and your sisters and go every year. I am really looking forward to it. Maybe we can do the breast exam thing the 11th of every month like you and your sister, too.
    Have fun! Love your blog!
    Cindy

  2. If you have time, have a look at http://www.gulf-shores-alabama.net for some Gulf Shores restaurant reviews and info on fun stuff to do. The older people I know who come here enjoy the sunset dolphin cruises, your mom might also.

  3. Yes traditions are very important to me and my extended family. My wife started a girls weekend a few years ago. It’s all her longtime girlfriends and they all meet in Corning NY. My father-in-law started a Solstice party every year and all of us “kids” and our kids and friends all get together at his cabin in Peach bottom pa. It’s a great time because we all don’t have the chance to get together at the holiday time propper, and we aren’t under the stress of official Christmas. Very relaxing and enjoyable times.

  4. Donna:

    It’s great that you and your sisters would take the time to start such a great tradition. I remember interviewing someone not to long ago who says every few years she goes abroad without the husband or the kids. I was instantly jealous but glad she could have a vaca to herself. Hopefully you enjoy the vaca with your mom and sister. Everyone needs some R & R.

  5. I work for HomeAway and am glad to hear your stay in Gulf Shores at a homeaway.com property was such a success! Because you had such a good experience, I thought you may be interested in the contest we are hosting for bloggers in which you could win a $5000 stay in the HomeAway rental of your choice. Visit blog.homeaway.com to find out more.

Leave a Reply

