Baby Girl’s new tricks….

babyI suppose it was only a matter of time really…that day when Baby Girl realized she could indeed jump from the kitchen floor to the counter. It’s always been too far for her, so things were safe up there…including Muffy’s food. Muffy is a dainty eater…just picks at it and finishes it later, but Baby eats anything and everything….fast. So the only way to keep her from Muf’s food was to put it in a place where Muffy could access it, but Baby could not. The counter under the phone…it’s not a food prep area…(so germaphobes don’t need to be concerned).

Actually, yes you do, now that I think about it. Here’s why. Baby came up to me a few days ago with paws darker than usual…and smelly. Aghhhh, what’s that? Took a closer sniff…not poopy, thank goodness, but what is that smell? Washed her paws with soap and water(umm, she really loves that), and didn’t think much more about it.

When I leave for work in the morning, I usually put down a little extra food for Baby, that I have saved from the morning feed….she likes that. But the can was nowhere to be seen..not in the spot where I usually put it. Oh, there it is, on the floor…now how on earth…wait just a minute. That’s what Baby’s paws smelled like. Cat food. She had dug out with her paws what she couldn’t get with her mouth. And the reality of it hit me. The kitchen counter is no longer safe territory, and Baby has no manners at all. My fault, I know. So now I have to find an even higher place for hiding food…..and I don’t know what to do about Muffy’s food…and I really don’t want her walking all around my kitchen counters. But I’m not sure what to do about it. Besides disinfect every night, or try to catch her up there and yell. A fat lot of good that will do. Baby Girl grows up…..

3 Responses

  1. Hi Donna,
    Had the same issue in our house (have gone through this 3 times now) and the thing that we have found that works the best to break them of this habit is this-stack a few empty soda cans 3 or 4 high and three or four wide just far enough back on the counter that they can’t see it from the floor. When they jump and and land on the counter they knock over the cans, create a ruckus and scare themselves. May take a few times but it’s worth it, and they associate the noise with the soda cans, not you. Best of luck!

  2. Hmmmmm, that’s quite an idea. I don’t have soda cans but could probably get some…I really don’t like fussing at her!

  3. Donna,
    I have found that water guns are great to use to train those cats on what not to do. It just took me about a week to train my cat. Low and behold my cat no longer drags himself along the length the sofa anymore. Plus it is kind of fun watching the cats trying to figure out what just hit them. Good Luck Baby Girl is just to cute.

Leave a Reply

