Becoming an Ironwoman…

I was watching the Ellen Degeneres Show while in the makeup room the other day, or maybe it was Oprah, but Ellen probably….she was talking about how she walks every day…as do I. OK, most days….

Anyway, she and her husband put on vests with weight in them, that adds to your workout, and helps you burn more calories. Brilliant, I thought…and immediately set about casting about on the interent for something similar. Are there options? Yes  indeed there are. Many.

I finally chose the Ironman….it looks like suspiciously like a flak jacket or a policemans  bulletproof vest, or maybe a fishing vest vest, with tons of little pockets with little packs of weights that one puts in the pockets. These are to weigh you down and make your walk miserable, I’m guessing.

But hey, I’m game….so I ordered the sucker. It was on my front porch a few days later. Could I pick up the box to get it inside? No. The mailman must have wondered what on earth so heavy could be inside such a rather small box. Finally wrestled it through the door.

pic Here’s what it looks like on. Extremely attractive, oui? I’ll let you know how it works out when actually on a walk….we’ll see.

4 Responses

  1. Actually, it was Valerie Bertinelli talking about it on Oprah. It worked for her! Interested to get someone else’s thoughts on the vest.

  2. CONGRATS! to you and WBAL for 60 years of broadcasting today! Great job Keep it going.

    Big Fan

    Brian

  3. I am interested when you will go high def, given your numerous blog posts and the Baltimore Sun article.

  4. Hmmm very good point. I’m interested in that as well. WBAL TV HD would be amazing. Any scoop on when the HD transition may take place?

Leave a Reply

