The Cat/Heart Connection….

OK did you see the same article I saw? The one in the Baltimore Sun, (but originally came from the L.A. Times), about the effect a cat has on your health. Get this….cat owners have a lower risk of dying from a heart attack!! Seriously, I’m not making this up, non-cat owners have a 40 % greater risk have dying from a heart attack than cat owners do.

Why? No clue. No clue at all.  Personally, I think cat owners are more discerning and intelligent than everyone else….oh, did I just say that? OK, not really…but cats are very intelligent animals, and often quite picky. muffyMuffy, my lovely calico cat, likes her cat food the chunky kind, not ground. I have to vary the flavors…she likes it warmed for 9 seconds in the microwave, then sprinkled with dry cat food over the top. Now some of you will say, “You don’t know she wants her food warmed, that’s just some strange thought in your own head.” Maybe there is bit of projection there, I won’t deny it.  But she eats delicately, a nibbler and often…that’s healthy, I think.

baby girlNow Baby Girl…there’s a different story. I don’t know if she was starved as a kitten…hope not…but when I put her food down, and it could be anything really, (haven’t found something she doesn’t like), she scarfs it uplike a vaccum cleaner. More like a dog eats. Now you see it , now you don’t. Seriously, when I put down dry cat food, she grabs for the box as I take it away. I don’t think she even chews . That can’t be good for her, but I don’t know how to slow the process.

The lead researcher said about their study, “There isn’t enough evidence to recommend [getting a cat] as a standard practice. ” Yeah, but it can’t hurt! Save yourself a heart attack, and save a cat at the same time!!

Cats rule!

P.S. I thought later, it must also be said that cats do have the power to break your heart. For those of you who have lost a beloved pet, you know what I mean. I still miss Wild Kitty. Oh, and the only reason dogs weren’t included in this study, was there were too few people in this particular population who owned them. I would guess they have the same heart-healthy effect. So….dogs rule too.

3 Responses

  1. […] dhamiltonhearst put up a good read today.Here’s a quick excerpt:Seriously, when I put down dry cat food, she grabs for the box as I take it away. I don’t think she even chews . That can’t be good for her, but I don’t know how to slow the process. The lead researcher said about their study, … […]

  2. Donna – oh yes, cat’s rule! And dogs do, too, as you said. It has been studied (and I think you can find info on the RealAge website and others) that having a dog is very healthy for people, as dogs need to be walked! Thus, their human also walks. This is healthy on many levels. There have also been studies that people who have already had a heart attack, who has a dog, reaps lots of benefits and less likely to have a second one, for the same reasons as above. Owning a pet (or in the case of cats, being owned by a pet) reaps so many health benefits. Just stroking/petting an animal lowers blood pressure and those with pets also have less or less severe depression. Let’s hear it for the animals in our lives! P.S. I love all your posts, but my favorites are the updates on your babies. Wild Kitty will be waiting on the other side of the Rainbow Bridge. Lainey/Glen Burnie

  3. I have a cat who has passed her expiration date long ago, but is still here after 18 years purring and cuddling. It is so good to see her be happy to see me. I might add that I also have two dogs and a bunny rabbit. The bunny is housebroken and wanders around in the evening with the rest of the pets while we watch tv. He will often come and sit on my lap and let me spend an hour or two scritching and cuddling him, just like the cat. In fact, they get along well. I have found that pets in general have a tremendous calming effect on me.

Leave a Reply

